Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Halfed the recipe and it was plenty for our family of 4. Definitely need double the chicken broth. Also...it needs to cook for more like 30 minutes unless you like your beans and potatoes crunchy. Balsamic Vinegar gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I used a thick cut bacon a bit closer to Canadian bacon in terms of meat to fat proportion. I used a sweet onion as I didn't have any red on hand and omitted the potatoes as I was making a sweet potato mash already. I also didn't have white balsamic vinegar so I used a sauvignon blanc vinegar I did have and it all came out fantastic! I did boil the mixture for another 3-4 minutes on high heat to boil out the water. Served it with prime rib and it was a big hit. Will definitely make again with the potatoes next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These were great. Had to cook a bit longer than 10 minutes though... more like 20 and had to add more chicken stock about twice as much to steam up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Easy and good. My husband really liked these green beans. I made the recipe with frozen green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Great recipes for green beans, but added bacon grease and full can of chicken stock. My vegetarian friend ate this and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmyz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
What a hit! Doubled the recipe and still had no leftovers! I kept the small potatoes whole and extended the cooking time to around an hour. I also added some cayenne and red pepper flakes to turn up the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
total southern yumminess!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Hometown flavor, solid Dish... Meal or side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made this for a group of high school football players, they loved it!! Much heartier of a side dish with the potatoes in it. De-Lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Best way to make fresh green beans! So much flavor and the vinegar give just the right flavor. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States