Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by SusieQ
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These green beans were excellent with lots of flavor! I prepared them exactly as the directions stated with the exception of the cooking time. I cooked them about twice as long since I felt the potatoes as well as the green beans were a little undercooked for my taste. One other note...don't skip the balsamic vinegar. It really adds to the flavor of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henryetta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was an absolutely delicious dish. I was surprised at how fast it cooked, though preparation did take a little while. I added a little oregano and cooked the onions in the bacon grease (which I also added to the potatoes and green beans). I did forget to try the balsamic vinegar though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Loved this recipe! I left out the vinegar since some of my family doesn't like it, but otherwise followed the recipe. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Hartline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
"Made this due to having the items and they were needing to be used tonight. It was a wonderful dish! Enjoyed it very much. We had to tweek it a smidge because we did not have the correct vinegar nor the broth. I plan to make it again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe. My son, who usually hates beans, requests this recipe for dinner. I did use olive oil instead of butter, to increase the healthy oils, and it was fine. Otherwise, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
These were great even with canned green beans. They are as good as my mom's green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Locke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
we had this for dinner we all loved it thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Wonderful. I only changed a couple of things because I used the things I had on hand. I used regular russett potatoes insetad of the red or new potatoes and I used white wine vinegar instead of the balsalmic. Just what i had at home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was a wonderful last minute side dish!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very delicious, bacon added a nice contrast to the otherwise healthy (save for the butter too) side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States