Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This dish is truly delicious! I followed one of the other comments that recommended using the bacon grease instead of adding butter. I also sauted the onions/garlic first for 2 min, then added the potatoes for another 5 min and then finally the broth & beans for the final 5 minutes (with the pot covered to allow it to steam). That gave the potatoes & green beans the right cooking times (both were fresh from my farm, so getting them perfect is super yummy). It turned out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I didn't have fresh beans, red onion, or white balsamic vinegar. I used frozen Italian beans, yellow onion and red balsamic vinegar. I also used real bacon bits for time savings. This was great! Loaded with flavor and even the left overs were delicious. I diced the potatoes in a half inch dice but even so, next time I'll nuke them a bit so the green beans aren't over done. I like them a little firmer. Oh and I didn't have chicken brothe either. I used a bit of chicken base and water. Us po folks gotta get creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was great, I made it just as listed except I didnt have bacon - I can only imagine it will be awesome with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by SusieQ
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These green beans were excellent with lots of flavor! I prepared them exactly as the directions stated with the exception of the cooking time. I cooked them about twice as long since I felt the potatoes as well as the green beans were a little undercooked for my taste. One other note...don't skip the balsamic vinegar. It really adds to the flavor of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henryetta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was an absolutely delicious dish. I was surprised at how fast it cooked, though preparation did take a little while. I added a little oregano and cooked the onions in the bacon grease (which I also added to the potatoes and green beans). I did forget to try the balsamic vinegar though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Loved this recipe! I left out the vinegar since some of my family doesn't like it, but otherwise followed the recipe. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeltown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
"Made this due to having the items and they were needing to be used tonight. It was a wonderful dish! Enjoyed it very much. We had to tweek it a smidge because we did not have the correct vinegar nor the broth. I plan to make it again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe. My son, who usually hates beans, requests this recipe for dinner. I did use olive oil instead of butter, to increase the healthy oils, and it was fine. Otherwise, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
These were great even with canned green beans. They are as good as my mom's green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
we had this for dinner we all loved it thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States