Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These were delicious! Next time I will drain all the bacon grease, like the recipe states, because the beans were a little too greasy for my taste. Otherwise very good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Made this dish for a family dinner to celebrate my new place. It was a huge hit, everyone went back for a second serving. The following day I took what was leftover for lunch and shared with my coworkers and got rave reviews. Now whenever there is a potluck or family dinner this is a reqested dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Mount Rainier, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I really liked this recipe! It was simple and easy to make with ingredients I had on hand. I made some substitutions -- a white onion instead of red, and sweet potatoes instead of new potatoes because that's all I had. The sweet potatoes definitely worked well with it! Make sure you add enough salt and pepper or else it will be kind of bland. I'm also a huge garlic fiend so when I make this again I'll probaby add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
You will love this! I followed the recipe closely except for adding a bit more chicken broth which steamed the potatoes and beans to perfection. Like others have noted, it did need to cook longer than 10 minutes. Do not use canned green beans, stick to fresh for this one. In fact, I wouldn't substitute or leave out ANY of the ingredients as the flavors came together perfectly. A good balance of veggies, bacon, and seasoning-I wouldn't change a thing. This is a new family favorite, I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is good and it is easy to make. I pull up this recipe everytime I want to make green beans. Takes me back to my grandmomma's kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was what I make whenever I have fresh green beans on hand. This is a family favorite, we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great recipe. Didn't have white balsamic vinegar so I added red wine vinegar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
this is a great recipe! love the combinations of ingredients & super easy to make. we make it a meal all by its self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Great recipe. I left out the bacon but added Parmesan cheese and slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I cooked it as written and it was tasty but too much for my children. They picked out the potatoes but ate everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOWARRIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States