Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I didn't think this had much flavor. I added a little extra bacon and even cooked the onions in leftover bacon grease instead of the butter just to add a little more flavor. I used frozen green beans because I didn't have fresh, which worked fine, but the potatoes took forever to cook and I had to add more chicken broth because it cooked up before the potatoes were done. I timed my meal so that this was the last thing to be ready, but it took so much longer than the recipe suggested, we ate the rest of the meal without this on the table. I finished it afterwards. I cut the potatoes up very small, so I'm not sure what happened? Don't know if I will try this one again, but thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Made this for my family and there was nothing left when we finished dinner. I think next time for my crew I will use 2-3 less potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. Will definitely make this again. Next time I will throw the potatoes in (w/a little extra broth) and let them simmer until tender, then add the green beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I've made this recipe twice. This last time I added a pinch of red pepper flake. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrp1207

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Good recipe. Nice flavor. I like the red onions instead of using white. And I left out the vinegar. And put 1 cup of chicken broth instead of 1/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was a hit during Christmas dinner and I made with a yellow onion. The second time I made it I used half a yellow and red onion and it was too sweet. I would recommend using a yellow onion only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Love this recipe. Just like my mom and aunt used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These were delicious! Next time I will drain all the bacon grease, like the recipe states, because the beans were a little too greasy for my taste. Otherwise very good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Made this dish for a family dinner to celebrate my new place. It was a huge hit, everyone went back for a second serving. The following day I took what was leftover for lunch and shared with my coworkers and got rave reviews. Now whenever there is a potluck or family dinner this is a reqested dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Mount Rainier, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I really liked this recipe! It was simple and easy to make with ingredients I had on hand. I made some substitutions -- a white onion instead of red, and sweet potatoes instead of new potatoes because that's all I had. The sweet potatoes definitely worked well with it! Make sure you add enough salt and pepper or else it will be kind of bland. I'm also a huge garlic fiend so when I make this again I'll probaby add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States