Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Being a vegetarian, I substituted imitation ham flavoring for the chicken broth and Earth Balance for the butter. Tasted very close to what the elderly women in my family always made for family gathering at my grandmother's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCOX
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Really good! Only thing I changed was to put the bacon in at the end so it wasn't soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delicious! I too used more chicken broth. After I sautéed the onion and garlic, I sautéed the slices of potato to brown them, then I added in the chicken broth. I let the potatoes cook in the broth until it reduced and added in more broth so that I could add in the fresh green beans. I then let the beans get crisp-done and it was perfect. I sprinkled the balsamic vinegar and crispy bacon pieces on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Very tasty recipe. I was looking for a new way to do green beans. I think you could swap out butter for olive oil to make it dairy free. I also used hericot verts instead of green beans and in the future, I will use green beans as they are a bit harder and better for longer cook times (that are necessary for potatoes). My green beans were a little wilty. I didn't follow measurements exactly, just threw stuff in the pot - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I followed the directions leaving out the onions, I'm allergic, and this recipe was terrific. Great combination of green veggie with potato for a quick nutritious side dish. The taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Thoensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I make this all the time. I use fresh green beans,small potatoes, and cut raw bacon, and add salt. Boil for 45 min and drain. It has the smokey flavor from the raw bacon and is delicious. Frying the bacon takes the flavor out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I tried this tonight - New Yrs Resolution - to eat more veggies. This did not disappoint. I did not have bacon but I had ham and diced that. Used more chicken broth as suggested. Will make this often - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
So good! This dish turned out fantastic my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was fantastic. I used russet potatoes, a medium/lg yellow onion & about 7-8 strips of smokey bacon. I eyeballed the amount of chicken broth i used, probably somewhere around 2 cups of chicken broth used. it tasted great. i added garlic powder, peppers & salt but forgot the vinegar. The bacon really makes it flavorful and the onion soaks up the flavors great. Made for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. Will make in smaller portions for future dinners :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States