Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was fantastic. I used russet potatoes, a medium/lg yellow onion & about 7-8 strips of smokey bacon. I eyeballed the amount of chicken broth i used, probably somewhere around 2 cups of chicken broth used. it tasted great. i added garlic powder, peppers & salt but forgot the vinegar. The bacon really makes it flavorful and the onion soaks up the flavors great. Made for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. Will make in smaller portions for future dinners :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made these for my family for Thanksgiving this year and they were really good! I did add a little Cajun Seasoning to the green beans and was a little heavy handed on the Balsamic Vinegar so I was worried they wouldn't taste good, but these are the best green beans I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Great and easy side dish!! Only alterations were using sweet white potatoes for extra flavor, turkey bacon for health purposes, and regular balsamic vinegar for the flavor. Big hit!! Next time I think I'd use white or vidalia onion instead. The red overpowers a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is very similar to a dish I've done for years, but I suggest adding some pecans just before finishing (so they're still a bit crunchy), to really make this Southern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very yummy. I cut the potatoes into small cubes and oven roasted them seperately first after shaking them in seasoning and olive oil first. That way they were a bit crunchy. I also cut the beans into bit size pieces so it would be easier to eat. It was delicious! People went back for seconds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
labor intensive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I don't really like green beans, but this was so good I had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Used Turkey Bacon instead of regular bacon and EVOO instead of butter...Yummy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Delicious vegetarian option with small changes. I omitted the bacon and substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth. Love the kick of the balsamaic vinegar. Used finger potatoes and green bean from the farmer's market. I used olive oil to saute and did throw the green beans in with the onion for the last 5 minutes. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
My family thought this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States