Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was supposed to be a side dish. It turned into a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Used turkey bacon. YUMMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpecialKsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My mother-in-law HATES frozen green beans... but that's exactly what I used for this recipe and she is still raving about them!! I cooked them without butter or onions and sprinkled crumbled crispy bacon over the top before serving. These were so good I ate them the next day for a light lunch and they were even better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I used beef bacn instead of pork, it was absolutely amazing. I barely ever cook so for me to be able to make it was astonishing. It did take a bit longerthen listed to cook the beans & potatoes tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
The beans and potatoes were great! They were quite east to make and very tasty! They were full of flavour and I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I loved this recipe. I am from the South and although I have often seen potatoes cooked with green beans, I have never tried it. I kept the bacon grease in the pan and added the butter to it. I had to use frozen green beans, which I thawed. 3 bags were 36 ounces. I used 1/2 lb. bacon and it took probably twice the broth and about 30 minutes or more to cook. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was very tasty, enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing! I did substitute ham for bacon to use up some leftover Easter ham, and it was a light, wonderful warm weather meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
LOVED this recipe. I made it with pork chops and i cleared 2 helping of these green beans before i moved on. It was the same with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Great Green Beans. I've made these green beans for years, I've made them with potatoes and without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
My husband and I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States