Southern Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Very tasty recipe. I was looking for a new way to do green beans. I think you could swap out butter for olive oil to make it dairy free. I also used hericot verts instead of green beans and in the future, I will use green beans as they are a bit harder and better for longer cook times (that are necessary for potatoes). My green beans were a little wilty. I didn't follow measurements exactly, just threw stuff in the pot - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I followed the directions leaving out the onions, I'm allergic, and this recipe was terrific. Great combination of green veggie with potato for a quick nutritious side dish. The taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I make this all the time. I use fresh green beans,small potatoes, and cut raw bacon, and add salt. Boil for 45 min and drain. It has the smokey flavor from the raw bacon and is delicious. Frying the bacon takes the flavor out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I tried this tonight - New Yrs Resolution - to eat more veggies. This did not disappoint. I did not have bacon but I had ham and diced that. Used more chicken broth as suggested. Will make this often - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
So good! This dish turned out fantastic my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was fantastic. I used russet potatoes, a medium/lg yellow onion & about 7-8 strips of smokey bacon. I eyeballed the amount of chicken broth i used, probably somewhere around 2 cups of chicken broth used. it tasted great. i added garlic powder, peppers & salt but forgot the vinegar. The bacon really makes it flavorful and the onion soaks up the flavors great. Made for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. Will make in smaller portions for future dinners :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made these for my family for Thanksgiving this year and they were really good! I did add a little Cajun Seasoning to the green beans and was a little heavy handed on the Balsamic Vinegar so I was worried they wouldn't taste good, but these are the best green beans I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Great and easy side dish!! Only alterations were using sweet white potatoes for extra flavor, turkey bacon for health purposes, and regular balsamic vinegar for the flavor. Big hit!! Next time I think I'd use white or vidalia onion instead. The red overpowers a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is very similar to a dish I've done for years, but I suggest adding some pecans just before finishing (so they're still a bit crunchy), to really make this Southern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States