Southern Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
An AWESOME and easy recipe. Just like my Nannie (Grandmother) used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
quick and easy great tasting recipie for a southern staple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quinlan, Texas, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Try adding crushed seasoned stuffing crumbs (in the package). Crush finely then use in place of cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TERRIS911
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These were really good, but I added salt, pepper, paprika, and a little sugar to the flour/cornmeal mixture, 'cause that's what my mamaw used to do, these tasted just like hers! I also threw in a Tbsp. of bacon grease with the olive oil, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe simple & quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Think these would have turned out better if deep fried. Next time will do that. Otherwise was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This is a great base recipe.... i would replace the milk with 1/2 cup or less buttermilk, drop the egg, veggie oil instead of olive oil, after slicing tomatoes sprinkle slices with salt pepper onion powder and sugar go light on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
You have to start with the right tomato. Saucing or juicing tomatoes just do not fry, bake or stew well. You need fleshy, meaty tomatoes- not the ones filled with seed pockets and juice. Don't expect supermarket tomatoes to fry well. They've probably been frozen and will be mealy. Get your green toms from your garden or a farmer and view the cut open flesh."Big Boy" and "Beefsteak" are two types that fry well when green. I salt the slices to drain off some of the moisture and bitterness before I bread or batter them. Some folks like the acidity and use buttermilk to increase it. Fried green toms are considered a southern "curiosity" but it's really just a variation on the centuries old fried eggplant and tastes almost identical (Try a few sprinkles of basil, oregano and Parmesean cheese on the toms!). I fry my green toms in olive oil (not EVOO) and/or other oil blends, depending on the flavor I want. Traditionally in the south, bacon grease or lard would've been used to fry 'em in, and I sometimes go with tradition. I find Olive oil, garlic and Toms are "naturals" together. Buy when the price is low and freeze them. They can be preped, breaded and frozen on sheet pans or waxed paper, then bagged and fried from the freezer, just like eggplant or Okra...try green tomato "chips" from your dehydrator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Followed recipe to the letter and the results were to die for. Many thanks for this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States