Southern Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
OMGOODNESS! I think the cornmeal adds a little crunch to this normally soggy side. I love them this way. This is always how I make fried green tomatoes. I use some salt and pepper, too. Try this: dip the tomato in egg then flour then egg then cornmeal. If desired, add the salt and pepper to the flour. YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
GREAT....glad to see someone else uses olive oil, much healthier! I added a little onion powder, salt and pepper to my milk/egg mixture for flavor, and half Italian bread crumbs/half corn meal. Very good, the Italian bread crumbs give a bit more flavor. So I guess I made the "Italian Fried Green Tomatoes"...also used zucchini - YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA HUME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Wonderful recipe! All I added was salt and pepper, and changed the oil to vegetable cooking oil. I didn't measure it, just poured it in the pan and used what I needed. When I was finished, I addedthe egg/milk mixture to the remaining cornmeal mixture; mixed it into a dough, formed small cakes with it and fried it in the same oil the tomatoes were fried in. YUM! My husband loved it! This was the first, and only recipe I'll ever try. It is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Followed recipe to the letter and the results were to die for. Many thanks for this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
You have to start with the right tomato. Saucing or juicing tomatoes just do not fry, bake or stew well. You need fleshy, meaty tomatoes- not the ones filled with seed pockets and juice. Don't expect supermarket tomatoes to fry well. They've probably been frozen and will be mealy. Get your green toms from your garden or a farmer and view the cut open flesh."Big Boy" and "Beefsteak" are two types that fry well when green. I salt the slices to drain off some of the moisture and bitterness before I bread or batter them. Some folks like the acidity and use buttermilk to increase it. Fried green toms are considered a southern "curiosity" but it's really just a variation on the centuries old fried eggplant and tastes almost identical (Try a few sprinkles of basil, oregano and Parmesean cheese on the toms!). I fry my green toms in olive oil (not EVOO) and/or other oil blends, depending on the flavor I want. Traditionally in the south, bacon grease or lard would've been used to fry 'em in, and I sometimes go with tradition. I find Olive oil, garlic and Toms are "naturals" together. Buy when the price is low and freeze them. They can be preped, breaded and frozen on sheet pans or waxed paper, then bagged and fried from the freezer, just like eggplant or Okra...try green tomato "chips" from your dehydrator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
This was a basic but yummy recipe for a favorite in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This is the way my mom made fried green tomatoes when I was growing up. It was a delicious dish and brought back good memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
my boyfriend was a cook in a really nice southern restaurant, and he dipped them in milk instead of egg and fries them in canola oil. I think they come out a lot better without the 'eggy' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Yummmm- Just like my Mama used to make! I don't use as much breading, I really try to shake off as much as I can. Also- us Southerners love that salt! We sprinkle way too much salt on these babies! Execellent recipe- thank you Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States