Southern Fried Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I love the sweetness the sugar gives mixed with the smokey flavor of the bacon. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These were really really good! The sugar adds a nice twist! This will be a staple in our house for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This has been served in our family for years. It is the only way I can get my husband to eat green beans! Canned green beans is the only way to go with this recipe, and I usually add 1/2 diced sweet yellow onion. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is a wonderful way to make green beans! I omit the sugar and add 1/2 of a medium red onion to the pan and then add 1 tablespoon of butter at the end to finish it off.....fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPINDSAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is my families favorite veggie recipe but after the bacon gets crisp I add 1/2 a diced onion, cook 5 minutes then add fresh green beans (about a pound or two). My neice loves them better when I add 1/2 pound of new potatoes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vjohns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Great recipe! After the bacon was done, I add diced onion and garlic. I also cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
These were awesome!!! I made them to go with the garlic prime rib and wished I had doubled the recipe. I did add 1/2 of an onion while cooking the bacon. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Wow! Even my kids who won't touch green beans loved this. I had to make more the next day. I cut down on the sugar, but the dish was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda in Alaska
Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This is now my husband's favorite way for me to make green beans. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States