Southern Fried Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Yummy! The best I've made! And easy! I used the "real bacon - recipe pieces" since I don't like frying up bacon in the house very often, plus it's just easier and saves time. I think it tasted just as good. Plus, added a sprinkle of slivered almonds for some crunch at the end. These were just sooo good. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a very good way to cook green beans. However, I do have a couple suggestions based upon the way I make them myself. For anyone who hasn't ever had beans cooked in this, or a similar type manner, I would first suggest that you begin with ONLY a TEASPOON of sugar, and increase the amount of sugar based upon your own family's personal taste. Like some other reveiwers have mentioned, another really good addition is a bit of diced onion. One final addition that really seems to tie all of this together & really takes this dish 'over the top' is to add a splash or so of some apple cider vinegar. Again, the amount that you add should be done to taste & based upon the taste preferences of your own family. Don't worry, a splash or two of vinegar will NOT make your beans taste vinegary in the least, it only enhances & ties together all of the other flavors in your dish & makes it a much more vibrant & flavorful way of cooking traditional green beans. (Even if you do end up making a mistake and add too much vinegar for your taste you can always cut any sharpness by adding just a bit more sugar. Another way is to just increase your cooking time a little bit more. By doing that, you'll 'cook off' any of the unwanted excess vinegar, and your dish will 'mellow' itself right back out. Plus you'll get the added benefit of your beans becoming even more tender for you with any entended cooking time you might add.) Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Awesome! Awesome! My family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superwoman8977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I left out the sugar and added onions to the bacon grease until soft then added the green beans and garlic. This is some good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My husband and children do not like green beans, but they ate these! I used turkey bacon just because it was what I had on hand. I think real bacon would be better. These were great. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Good! Green beans are not my favorite but this recipe made them good! I added a bit of onion and cut back on the sugar to 3/4 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Easy and very tasty. Will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a great recipe! Especially when you're trying to make green beans more interesting. However, I'd put just a teaspoon of sugar as a tablespoon was a little too sweet. I highly recommend this recipe if you want to do something to make your side dish a little different and much tastier than just coming out of the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whachagotcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
VER GOOD!! Followed to a T, but added a tad bit of butter. Ver good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Delicious! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States