Southern Fried Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This has been served in our family for years. It is the only way I can get my husband to eat green beans! Canned green beans is the only way to go with this recipe, and I usually add 1/2 diced sweet yellow onion. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is a wonderful way to make green beans! I omit the sugar and add 1/2 of a medium red onion to the pan and then add 1 tablespoon of butter at the end to finish it off.....fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPINDSAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is my families favorite veggie recipe but after the bacon gets crisp I add 1/2 a diced onion, cook 5 minutes then add fresh green beans (about a pound or two). My neice loves them better when I add 1/2 pound of new potatoes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vjohns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Great recipe! After the bacon was done, I add diced onion and garlic. I also cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I love the sweetness the sugar gives mixed with the smokey flavor of the bacon. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
These were awesome!!! I made them to go with the garlic prime rib and wished I had doubled the recipe. I did add 1/2 of an onion while cooking the bacon. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These were really really good! The sugar adds a nice twist! This will be a staple in our house for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Wow! Even my kids who won't touch green beans loved this. I had to make more the next day. I cut down on the sugar, but the dish was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda in Alaska
Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
My husband loved this. I did not use the sugar, but added a tablespoon of butter right before serving. Flavorful and so much nicer than out-of-the-can green beans alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This is now my husband's favorite way for me to make green beans. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States