Southern Fried Chicken Strips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I loved this receipe, however, I don't think I will make it again. It was simply the mess factor. I've never cooked anything I had to dredge & fry before, and it was messy! 1. I tried the way the recipe said: Flour / egg / crackers and that worked fine. However, I took some review suggestions and dredged twice and went flour / egg / flour / egg / crackers and that was better. 2. I was half way done when I realized I forgot the potato flakes. I don't think I missed them. The end result was still very good. 3. I took some review suggestions & seasoned the cracker mixture a bit. I used fresh ground pepper / celery salt / garlic powder / cayanne. I think the seasoning was a good add. I liked the added spice. Now I need to clean the mess that is my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This is the best chicken strip recipe out there. My wife and kids loved it. I made a whole lot more than what the ingredients said. Oh and I used a little bit of garlic powder and garlic salt. Very amazing!!!!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jose22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This recipe exceeded my expectations. Thanks to those who clarified what temperature to cook the chicken. I did not have saltines so I used a sleeve of Ritz crackers instead. For seasoned salt I used Lowry's. Per the recommendations of other reviewers, I added a dash of garlic powder as well and dredged in flour and egg twice before coating in crackers. I used two eggs in order to do so, but did not need to increase the flour. I left the crackers in the resealable bag and added the other ingredients to the bag, then added the chicken pieces and shook to coat. Much easier and cleaner. I think the 15-20 min cooking time indicates how long it takes to cook all the chicken, not per piece. It only took me 6ish minutes per batch of strips to cook through using about 1/2 cup peanut oil in my cast iron skillet. The coating was perfectly crisp and didn't get greasy or soggy like a batter-fried or oven-baked strip. If needed, here are some substitutions for the potato flakes: crushed corn flakes, crushed rice crispies, seasoned bread crumbs, corn meal, or a second kind of crushed cracker. I served the chicken with a honey mustard, sweet and sour, and garlic lemon dipping sauces left over from a fondue dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
The key is the deep frying at 350 degrees, use a thermometer to keep the temp and measure the chicken which should be 165 inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Amazingly easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuJuuBeanr
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
These were just amazing! Didn't change a thing. Served with ranch dressing. We will definitely be keeping this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
We loved them. They've become a favorite in our house. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
The entire family loved it! So glad i found this one. I also used 2 eggs. I cooked the small tenders in a deep fryer. They were fully cooked in 8 minutes. Just the right amount of crunch and nice and tender and flavorful. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
perfect texture on the crust and meat. I do add some thyme, paprika, garlic powder, salt and a half a tsp baking powder to the crackers and some milk to the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
It came out perfect! Crunchy outside, moist inside. Big hit at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States