Southern Fried Chicken Strips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
The kids will love these as well as the adults. Simple and easy and perfect served on greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Having not been raised in the south, I often get teased by my children because I can't fry chicken. This recipe changed their mind and gave me a confidence boost! I forgot the potato flakes, but they were awesome anyway. I will add them next time! I don't usually rate recipes, but when I do, you know it's a good one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
THE best I've ever made! I didn't have any potato flakes so I just left them out, added a touch of garlic powder, they turned out great! This recipe is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcrystal1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is the first review I have ever left and that is because this recipe is perfect. The only thing I would do differently is double the recipe. I was only able to bread two large chicken breasts. Also, I did not have potato flakes so I used some panko flakes that I had instead. Aside from that minor change I did everything the same and it was a hit! I am going to use this as my go to fried chicken breading regardless of boneless or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Used Rabbit instead of Chicken, turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I omitted the potato flakes and it still turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky1234
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I was looking for a Fried Chicken Strips Recipe to make for my born and raised in North Carolina boyfriend and this was it! I didn't have potato flakes, so I omitted that ingredient. I cut my chicken breasts into pretty narrow strips so they only needed about 5 minutes on each side in the cast iron skillet, which was filled 1/4 way with Vegetable Oil. The Oil should be at about 350 degrees, it is important to fry in a good hot oil but of course not to the point of smoking. I seasoned the flour with salt, pepper, a little cayenne and garlic powder. After dipping the strips in the flour, then in the egg and then in the crushed saltines, I noticed some bare spots on the chicken so I sprinkled bread crumbs over the top which filled in the gaps. After frying they were SO moist on the inside, and CRUNCHY on the outside. This was a great recipe, and its a keeper, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I almost cried when I took my first bite :-). Signed up just to say this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this last night and it was a hit! I did make some changes: I did not have dry potato flakes, so I crushed some plain potato chips instead and used about 2 tablespoons of that. I also found that one egg was not enough, but you could probably go with 1/4 cup of flour as I had plenty of that left. Finally 1/4 cup of vegetable oil was not near enough; maybe if you were using a very small pan, but for my large pan I used a cup or more (you want the chicken about half submerged in the oil). Not a health-conscious meal, but it is delicious and pretty easy to make. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVMANTOO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This chicken was amazing! The recipe is good as is, but if you like it spicier like I do, add some cayenne for a nice kick. I will definitely make this again. I made 2 batches- the first as written, and the second I added about a teaspoon and a half of cayenne. Next time, I'll also try some paprika, and possibly other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States