Southern Fried Chicken Strips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Becky1234
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I was looking for a Fried Chicken Strips Recipe to make for my born and raised in North Carolina boyfriend and this was it! I didn't have potato flakes, so I omitted that ingredient. I cut my chicken breasts into pretty narrow strips so they only needed about 5 minutes on each side in the cast iron skillet, which was filled 1/4 way with Vegetable Oil. The Oil should be at about 350 degrees, it is important to fry in a good hot oil but not to the point of smoking. I seasoned the flour with salt, pepper, a little cayenne and garlic powder. After dipping the strips in the flour, then in the egg and then in the crushed saltines, I noticed some bare spots on the chicken so I sprinkled bread crumbs over the top which filled in the gaps. After frying they were SO moist on the inside, and CRUNCHY on the outside. This was a great recipe, and its a keeper, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Wasn't bad but i wish there was some more details for us newbie fried chicken cookers like how how the heat because if to high it burns very easy it also didn't have as much flavor as I was hoping for and the breading kept falling off. I liked the fact it used up ingredients I had laying around like open packs of crackers and potato flakes, since I no longer make instant potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is my 1st review! These chicken strips came out really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this last night and it was a hit! I did make some changes: I did not have dry potato flakes, so I crushed some plain potato chips instead and used about 2 tablespoons of that. I also found that one egg was not enough, but you could probably go with 1/4 cup of flour as I had plenty of that left. Finally 1/4 cup of vegetable oil was not near enough; maybe if you were using a very small pan, but for my large pan I used a cup or more (you want the chicken about half submerged in the oil). Not a health-conscious meal, but it is delicious and pretty easy to make. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVMANTOO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this recipe and it was delish!! The only variation was I used applesauce crackers(store brand ritz crackers) instead of the saltine. Crispy crunchy and tender. So good. Didn't even need any sauce to dip them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
THE best I've ever made! I didn't have any potato flakes so I just left them out, added a touch of garlic powder, they turned out great! This recipe is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcrystal1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I almost cried when I took my first bite :-). Signed up just to say this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This recipe exceeded my expectations. Thanks to those who clarified what temperature to cook the chicken. I did not have saltines so I used a sleeve of Ritz crackers instead. For seasoned salt I used Lowry's. Per the recommendations of other reviewers, I added a dash of garlic powder as well and dredged in flour and egg twice before coating in crackers. I used two eggs in order to do so, but did not need to increase the flour. I left the crackers in the resealable bag and added the other ingredients to the bag, then added the chicken pieces and shook to coat. Much easier and cleaner. I think the 15-20 min cooking time indicates how long it takes to cook all the chicken, not per piece. It only took me 6ish minutes per batch of strips to cook through using about 1/2 cup peanut oil in my cast iron skillet. The coating was perfectly crisp and didn't get greasy or soggy like a batter-fried or oven-baked strip. If needed, here are some substitutions for the potato flakes: crushed corn flakes, crushed rice crispies, seasoned bread crumbs, corn meal, or a second kind of crushed cracker. I served the chicken with a honey mustard, sweet and sour, and garlic lemon dipping sauces left over from a fondue dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
The kids will love these as well as the adults. Simple and easy and perfect served on greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Simply delicious. I did not have potatoe flakes so I omitted them. One thing I learned from my cooking experience is when I'm coating I put a little milk in the beaten egg mixture, along with 1/2 tsp of baking powder.and in the cracker mixture I added thyme, paprika, and a touch of granulated garlic . I first coat the meat in flour, then egg mixture , then flour, then egg , and with this recipe I did the cracker mixture once at the end right before I drop in the pan. For me the double even triple dipping process keeps the coating nice, thick, and keeps it on the meat. Very good recipe though thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States