Southern Fried Chicken Livers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Cindy, I don't care for livers but my son really enjoyed these. Will be making many more times. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA
Living In: Clute, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I added some hot sauce to the dredge liquid...tasted wonderful! Also I did fork them and that really works, no popping at all! Great tip you guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I love fried chicken livers- i grew up on them, but my husband was hesitant to try them. However, he ended up LOVING them. Followed the recipe to the letter. Thanks so much Cindy, we will be making this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5THSISTER
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I followed this recipe for chicken gizzards, instead of livers, and it worked beautifully! Thanks for this simple recipe, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Can_It_Rachael
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This is a GREAT recipe for fried chicken liver. Even my husband likes them done this way!!! (and he's the guy that picks liver and giblets pieces out of dressing) These stay crispy even when cold and are great as a midnight snack.:)Thanks Cindy for a tasty and easy way to make such a delicious and crispy morsel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
These were yummy. I remember years ago getting these at KFC. I always loved them and haven't had them in a long time. Now I can fix them whenever I feel like it. Thanks Cindylepp for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
When I was very young my mother would fry chicken livers but I never liked them, so she would eat them herself. I do remember her just dredging them in plain flour and frying. I want to assume it is because of the addition of spices to the flour and the egg/milk mixture is the reason why I liked how these tasted! I was reluctant to try liver again - but it has always been in the back of my mind to give it another chance because they are very good source of iron. I am glad I found this recipe cause I will definitely make these again. I ate them on toasted bread with lots of ketchup and pepper sauce (chicken liver sandwich - lol!) and I really enjoyed the garlic flavour in there. I used black pepper and cayenne in the flour as the pepper suggested in the recipe. Thanks for a new twist on an old "not-so-favourite" of mine. It has definitely made me change my mind about eating liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is one of my favorite foods EVER. I add a little Johnny's seasoning salt to my flour with the garlic powder. This is heaven. Great thing about this dish, too, is you can almost always buy the ingredients for this on the cheap. NOTE: You can do this with chicken hearts, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is now my husband's favorite dish. The only change I made was to add paprika to the flour dredge. I have trouble frying things, but I had not trouble with these! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
We don't care for liver, but I used this coating to make "popcorn chicken" out of boneless, skinless chicken breasts and it was SO good!! Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States