Southern Fried Chicken Livers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I added some hot sauce to the dredge liquid...tasted wonderful! Also I did fork them and that really works, no popping at all! Great tip you guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Rather than immersing in a deep fryer, I pan fried the liver under medium heat, using less than half a cup of walnut oil. Once both sides were golden brown, I turned off the heat and let them cook completely. If you have a glass covered saute pan, that helps to keep an eye on the livers without them spattering out of the pan. I also dumped the leftover flour mixture into the leftover egg and milk mixture (add 1/2 tsp sugar and 1 tsp baking powder) and poured out small pancakes in the pan. The garlic is REALLY strong in the pancakes, but they were a perfect accompaniment. Both are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is one of my favorite foods EVER. I add a little Johnny's seasoning salt to my flour with the garlic powder. This is heaven. Great thing about this dish, too, is you can almost always buy the ingredients for this on the cheap. NOTE: You can do this with chicken hearts, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
To prevent (or at least reduce) popping and possible burns, puncture the livers before frying. I use a cooking fork and poke away, puncturing each liver at least 5 or 6 times. Then follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I love fried chicken livers- i grew up on them, but my husband was hesitant to try them. However, he ended up LOVING them. Followed the recipe to the letter. Thanks so much Cindy, we will be making this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome! My son loves chicken livers (as do I) and when he tasted these, his exact words were, "These are possibly the best chicken livers I have ever tasted!" They were tender, yet crispy and sooo tasty. I did what Cindy posted last....I floured them first, then dipped in egg and milk mixture, then back in the flour. I fried them in a skillet. They were wonderful! Thanks, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PicklePoet
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
When I was very young my mother would fry chicken livers but I never liked them, so she would eat them herself. I do remember her just dredging them in plain flour and frying. I want to assume it is because of the addition of spices to the flour and the egg/milk mixture is the reason why I liked how these tasted! I was reluctant to try liver again - but it has always been in the back of my mind to give it another chance because they are very good source of iron. I am glad I found this recipe cause I will definitely make these again. I ate them on toasted bread with lots of ketchup and pepper sauce (chicken liver sandwich - lol!) and I really enjoyed the garlic flavour in there. I used black pepper and cayenne in the flour as the pepper suggested in the recipe. Thanks for a new twist on an old "not-so-favourite" of mine. It has definitely made me change my mind about eating liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by 5THSISTER
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I followed this recipe for chicken gizzards, instead of livers, and it worked beautifully! Thanks for this simple recipe, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. Will use it as a breading reciep on other deep fried foods. Much as I love chicken livers...I lfound that preparing them for the cooking process is disgusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
My new husband suggested trying chicken livers for dinner one evening and I thought he was kidding. Who eats chicken liver??? Anyway, I smiled figuring we would try them once and never need to eat them again. Ha! I didn't like the first one, but the more I ate, the more I craved. This recipe is wonderful! They go very well with rice and a simple steamed vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States