Southern Fried Chicken Livers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome! My son loves chicken livers (as do I) and when he tasted these, his exact words were, "These are possibly the best chicken livers I have ever tasted!" They were tender, yet crispy and sooo tasty. I did what Cindy posted last....I floured them first, then dipped in egg and milk mixture, then back in the flour. I fried them in a skillet. They were wonderful! Thanks, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PicklePoet
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Add Tony's More Seasoning theses are a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Rather than immersing in a deep fryer, I pan fried the liver under medium heat, using less than half a cup of walnut oil. Once both sides were golden brown, I turned off the heat and let them cook completely. If you have a glass covered saute pan, that helps to keep an eye on the livers without them spattering out of the pan. I also dumped the leftover flour mixture into the leftover egg and milk mixture (add 1/2 tsp sugar and 1 tsp baking powder) and poured out small pancakes in the pan. The garlic is REALLY strong in the pancakes, but they were a perfect accompaniment. Both are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
My new husband suggested trying chicken livers for dinner one evening and I thought he was kidding. Who eats chicken liver??? Anyway, I smiled figuring we would try them once and never need to eat them again. Ha! I didn't like the first one, but the more I ate, the more I craved. This recipe is wonderful! They go very well with rice and a simple steamed vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Used this recipe for livers and gizzards. It was terrific. Awfully addictive though. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I am not a fan of chicken livers, but, I thought I would surprise my husband with them since he likes them. This recipe was very easy to prepare - I actually just cooked them in my deep fryer. I didn't taste any, but, my husband said they were great and perfectly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I have always liked chicken livers and these were some of the best I ever had.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
ok folks this is to good for ya to try, leave the chicken livers for ME. this rocks...i use fresh garlic minced and eye-ball some green tobasco sauce and throw it in the batter. ya forget this recipe...way to good for ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
When I was very young my mother would fry chicken livers but I never liked them, so she would eat them herself. I do remember her just dredging them in plain flour and frying. I want to assume it is because of the addition of spices to the flour and the egg/milk mixture is the reason why I liked how these tasted! I was reluctant to try liver again - but it has always been in the back of my mind to give it another chance because they are very good source of iron. I am glad I found this recipe cause I will definitely make these again. I ate them on toasted bread with lots of ketchup and pepper sauce (chicken liver sandwich - lol!) and I really enjoyed the garlic flavour in there. I used black pepper and cayenne in the flour as the pepper suggested in the recipe. Thanks for a new twist on an old "not-so-favourite" of mine. It has definitely made me change my mind about eating liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by 5THSISTER
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I followed this recipe for chicken gizzards, instead of livers, and it worked beautifully! Thanks for this simple recipe, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States