Southern Fried Chicken Livers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Just like mawmaw used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was fantastic! I love chicken livers and Havent been able to find a good recipe. I could never fry them right. This is excellant served with a bbq sauce to dip in. Will make this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki jo
Living In: Whitewater, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
We loved these! Great simple batter that supports a great eating experience. Thank you Cindy! Got a question: I think I took one of the instructions wrong. I took, "Gently place the coated livers, a few at a time, into the hot oil" to mean only deep fry a few at a time. It was after I had about 2/3 of the livers cooked that it occurred to me that the instructions probably meant to put all of the livers in the deep fry and cook all of them at the same time, but to only put the livers in the pot at two or three (a few) at a time. This may explain why the batter for the livers I cooked turned dark brown nearly immediately as opposed to the golden brown in 5 to 6 minutes. To further clarify I brought my temp up to 375 F (verified temp with two thermometers) but the fried batter was way past golden brown right away. What do you guys and gals think? If I had deep fried the whole pound at once would I have experienced a slow more controlled browning to achieve a golden brown in 5-6 minutes? BTW I used a quart of peanut oil instead of vegetable oil. Could that have made the difference? Just want to improve my skills for this great basic recipe. Thank you kindly in advance for any and all feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I grew up on same recipe and it is delicious! For a fantastic breakfast or brunch: To the fried chicken livers, add 2-4 cups of beef gravy (from a package mix or jar). You can also add some sliced mushrooms and onions if desired. Then, pour it all over scrambled eggs. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
easy. tasty and even my 12 and 13 year old ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
My husband LOVED these! This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Great basic recipe! One small piece of advice. Puncture the chicken liver well, with a fork! It helps prevent splattering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
LOVE this! I also add a bit of Cajun seasoning, and I shallow fry them in a skillet. Serve them with mashed potatoes and chicken gravy. Thanks, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I grew up eating fried chicken livers, but my significant other doesn't care for then. So when I fry up a batch it's as a treat to myself. This recipe is the best I've tried so far. I don't have a deep fryer, so I shallow-fried mine in a large skillet; this works fine so long as you watch carefully any don't allow them to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
If you have time let the livers soak in the milk for an hour or so. The best I ever ate. Questionable to serve 4. We are 2 and had less than half left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elida, Ohio, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States