Southern Fried Chicken Livers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Add Tony's More Seasoning theses are a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Rather than immersing in a deep fryer, I pan fried the liver under medium heat, using less than half a cup of walnut oil. Once both sides were golden brown, I turned off the heat and let them cook completely. If you have a glass covered saute pan, that helps to keep an eye on the livers without them spattering out of the pan. I also dumped the leftover flour mixture into the leftover egg and milk mixture (add 1/2 tsp sugar and 1 tsp baking powder) and poured out small pancakes in the pan. The garlic is REALLY strong in the pancakes, but they were a perfect accompaniment. Both are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
My new husband suggested trying chicken livers for dinner one evening and I thought he was kidding. Who eats chicken liver??? Anyway, I smiled figuring we would try them once and never need to eat them again. Ha! I didn't like the first one, but the more I ate, the more I craved. This recipe is wonderful! They go very well with rice and a simple steamed vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Used this recipe for livers and gizzards. It was terrific. Awfully addictive though. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I am not a fan of chicken livers, but, I thought I would surprise my husband with them since he likes them. This recipe was very easy to prepare - I actually just cooked them in my deep fryer. I didn't taste any, but, my husband said they were great and perfectly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I have always liked chicken livers and these were some of the best I ever had.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
ok folks this is to good for ya to try, leave the chicken livers for ME. this rocks...i use fresh garlic minced and eye-ball some green tobasco sauce and throw it in the batter. ya forget this recipe...way to good for ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
When I was very young my mother would fry chicken livers but I never liked them, so she would eat them herself. I do remember her just dredging them in plain flour and frying. I want to assume it is because of the addition of spices to the flour and the egg/milk mixture is the reason why I liked how these tasted! I was reluctant to try liver again - but it has always been in the back of my mind to give it another chance because they are very good source of iron. I am glad I found this recipe cause I will definitely make these again. I ate them on toasted bread with lots of ketchup and pepper sauce (chicken liver sandwich - lol!) and I really enjoyed the garlic flavour in there. I used black pepper and cayenne in the flour as the pepper suggested in the recipe. Thanks for a new twist on an old "not-so-favourite" of mine. It has definitely made me change my mind about eating liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by 5THSISTER
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I followed this recipe for chicken gizzards, instead of livers, and it worked beautifully! Thanks for this simple recipe, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I added some hot sauce to the dredge liquid...tasted wonderful! Also I did fork them and that really works, no popping at all! Great tip you guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States