Southern Fried Chicken Livers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I grew up eating fried chicken livers, but my significant other doesn't care for then. So when I fry up a batch it's as a treat to myself. This recipe is the best I've tried so far. I don't have a deep fryer, so I shallow-fried mine in a large skillet; this works fine so long as you watch carefully any don't allow them to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
If you have time let the livers soak in the milk for an hour or so. The best I ever ate. Questionable to serve 4. We are 2 and had less than half left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elida, Ohio, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Fabulous! I made them with an asian flare, seasoned flour with Chinese 5 spice. Followed another reviewer's idea and made pancakes with left over milk and flour, added scallions. Served with an asian inspired coleslaw. A huge hit. I buy whole chickens on sale all the time and have saved and frozen chicken livers that I needed some new ideas for. Thanks for the great base recipe that can be made into many flavor profiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is one of our favourite fried Chicken Liver! Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I thought these were very good but need more than just garlic to season. I will use my Chicken Fried Steak mixture next time. I really think you need to have a deep fryer with a lid to make these because even with a screen to cover the pan they make a huge mess. I serve with cream gravy and fries--yep, lots of cholesterol but worth it once in a while----
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These were really good and I'm not a fan of chicken liver. The liver lovers of my house enjoyed these immensely .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
To prevent (or at least reduce) popping and possible burns, puncture the livers before frying. I use a cooking fork and poke away, puncturing each liver at least 5 or 6 times. Then follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Thank you CindyLepp for bringing back a childhood favorite. I used my own flour mixture (flour, salt, pepper, garlic powder, paprika and cayenne pepper), that I use for coating everything fried. Coating them in plain flour...then the egg mix...then the seasoned flour, is the key. Perfectly crispy, even the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Pretty good with some gravy. I just wished someone else would cook it and I eat it. After preparation, I could only stomach to eat two. And YES they SPLATTER, POP, & EXPLODE. Use a splatter screen. The family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I dipped the livers in seasoned flour then in egg mixture and then in breadcrumbs for extra crispiness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NidaCake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States