Southern Fried Chicken Livers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Very good. I fried them in peanut oil in my electric skillet. Had very little popping during frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Soaked trimmed livers for a few hours in fridge in buttermilk and hot sauce to which I added a beaten egg. Added livers to bag of flour with the garlic powder, onion powder, salt and lots of black pepper. Sealed bag and kept turning it to move livers around. Left livers in the flour until ready to cook. Pan-fried in about a half inch of hot oil, punctured them and had no spattering at all. Absolutely delicious. Served with some leftover gravy and potatoes. Not one left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Danforth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This is a perfect fried chicken livers recipe. They were very quick and simple to make and they were delicious. I will definitely be making these on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve A

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is absolutely delicious with the Spicy Fry Sauce recipe here on allrecipe.com. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Pheney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I used my electric fry pan that has a lid and fried at 375 degrees. The garlic really makes a difference and I always put hot sauce (Franks) in my milk dredge. Served over rice with peppermill gravy. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Wow, I have always loved chicken livers. This recipe is exactly the same I have used, except this one adds garlic powder. It made an amazing improvement on what I have loved for years. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff Spohr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Great recipe ! I devised a solution to your spatter problem ! The water inside the livers are what causes it to spatter when it hits the hot oil. After rinsing the livers in the colander I placed several layers of paper-towel in a large bowl and put the livers on top, then placed several layers on top and covered with seran wrap and let it sit in the fridge for an hour. Once they come out they will be relatively dry (accepting the dredge more easily) and won't spatter at all. Hope this tip helps !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helios Alatza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Cooked these for lunch today. My livers were frozen and needed to be cooked. I definitely will not freeze them again, will always use fresh in the future. These were good, but something missing in the taste. May have been because they had been frozen. Otherwise this is good recipe. I will definitely try again and add hot sauce or cayenne next time. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Finally a good chicken liver recipe! I tried this and served it to my family and they enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I love chicken livers and make them a lot for my family. I have made them like this often but I have another way I also like them and thought I would share it. I like to cut them into bite size pieces and then dip them in flour then egg and then seasoned breadcrumbs. I then fry them in a pan with oil like you would fry chicken. I make sure to fry them until they are nice and golden brown. After, I put them on a dish with paper towels to soak off any excess oil and let them cool a bit. They taste delicious and still have a nice crunch on the outside but yet still soft and yummy on the inside. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States