Southern Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Lots of flavor. They are better cold. I followed the recipe except for the hot sauce because I thought that would be to spicy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Hearts and Gizzards were never on my list until my other half came into my life. His family has always had them, flour, salt pepper no boiling, just fried, and I have to say this is the best I've ever had, and I intend on making them for the family so they can have something other than rubbery. They may like rubbery but he says these have been the best he's ever had! I used progresso garlic and herb as the recipe suggested and minimized the liquid in the end mixture. Used the flour mixture for some of the frying and the progresso for the rest and the progresso was far better. This is the new all time recipe for me now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This recipe is incredible. I made it for my family and they were blown away. Now I cant make them any other way. I urge you to try this recipe. There is no way anyone will be disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Way better than the usual deep fried and tough/ chewy gizzards that you get at most places. I kept it pretty simple - just added minced onion, minced garlic and celery seed to water and simmered for 1 1/2 hours. Rinsed and cooled and sprinkled with a litte garlic salt and tossed in flour and pan fried (my preference over deep frying) in a mixture of oil and butter, stirring until as crispy as you like it. I like to mix some Heinz 57 and sour cream together to dip them in. They were so tender, juicy, crispy and tasty. Thanks for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These were tender and delicious. Someone previously said they were going to try "beef gizzards"?? Huh...?!? Hmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great idea! I grew up on a farm and have had lots of fried gizzards BUT nothing that tastes as good as these. I placed mine in a crockpot in the morning on low and by dinner time they were nice and tender. My husband likes his tossed in Garlic Buffalo Sauce! Much healthier than fatty Buffalo Wings! Thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dklove69

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I saw gizzards at the market and thought who would eat those things! then I saw this recipe and figured I would give it a try. they are excellent! crispy and tangy and much better than greasy chicken wings. my hubby Chunky Fred ate most of the bowl before the kids could even get to them. now that I know how to make them I am going to try beef gizzards and use the same recipe. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I used what I had on hand. I put onion powder, celery salt, bay leaves and boiled the gizzards. I then used the seasoned salt, garlic powder, celery salt, black pepper, sage, and hot sauce. I then dipped them in a egg wash and tossed them in flour then deep fried. They were so tender. Thanks bunches for sharing. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Loved it! I made a Chipotle Hot Sauce to go with it for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Bodyroc McGlown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Really good! Very tender. I did have to add more salt after I cooked them. And I slathered mine in hot sauce but everything else I kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States