Southern Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Best gizzards I ever ate.We followed the recipe except left off the ranch dressing.Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Really good! Very tender. I did have to add more salt after I cooked them. And I slathered mine in hot sauce but everything else I kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Loved it! I made a Chipotle Hot Sauce to go with it for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bodyroc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by boese_kuenstler25
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Used it with Hearts as well. Really good. Just wish I knew how to get more batter to stick on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boese_kuenstler25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This recipe is incredible. I made it for my family and they were blown away. Now I cant make them any other way. I urge you to try this recipe. There is no way anyone will be disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I used what I had on hand. I put onion powder, celery salt, bay leaves and boiled the gizzards. I then used the seasoned salt, garlic powder, celery salt, black pepper, sage, and hot sauce. I then dipped them in a egg wash and tossed them in flour then deep fried. They were so tender. Thanks bunches for sharing. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great idea! I grew up on a farm and have had lots of fried gizzards BUT nothing that tastes as good as these. I placed mine in a crockpot in the morning on low and by dinner time they were nice and tender. My husband likes his tossed in Garlic Buffalo Sauce! Much healthier than fatty Buffalo Wings! Thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dklove69

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These were tender and delicious. Someone previously said they were going to try "beef gizzards"?? Huh...?!? Hmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The process of tenderizing them is excellent, but I will definitely change the seasonings and breading next time. The italian seasoning was way over powering and definitely not like any other gizzards i have had in the past. Just dropping them in plain flour really didn't do them justice either. I think more of a sage flavor would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Way better than the usual deep fried and tough/ chewy gizzards that you get at most places. I kept it pretty simple - just added minced onion, minced garlic and celery seed to water and simmered for 1 1/2 hours. Rinsed and cooled and sprinkled with a litte garlic salt and tossed in flour and pan fried (my preference over deep frying) in a mixture of oil and butter, stirring until as crispy as you like it. I like to mix some Heinz 57 and sour cream together to dip them in. They were so tender, juicy, crispy and tasty. Thanks for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States