Southern Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I tried this recipe for my first time ever making gizzards (my husbands favorite). It was such a hit that I couldn't fry them up fast enough! My kids, husband, and his friend gobbled them up! Next time will probably at least double the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Tender! Brown til crispy! Don't underfry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made a few substitutions based on what I had laying in the cupboard. I used Siracha instead of the Louisiana-style hot sauce (increased quantity), garlic paste instead of garlic powder, and I didn't have celery so I used celery seeds. Ohh, and instead of flour, I used a panko-dill covering that I had left over from some fish I made this week. I thought it came out great! I've never had tender gizzards like this. i don't know how my version compares to the original, but this recipe is fairly flexible to tweaks and changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Verrilli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This is the first time I prepared gizzards. I actually used duck gizzards. They taste a lot like turkey. I wish the breading were thicker. Next time I would make a wet batter. Otherwise, this is THE recipe for fried gizzards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by J. Weir
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was the first time I have ever made gizzards and first time I've ever deep fried something, but I couldn't be happier! I used this a base, and then added my own tweaks: - I trimmed the gizzards of the connective tissue that make gizzards so rubbery (however this made for more popcorn style gizzards than larger tavern style). - I added 3 garlic cloves and about 2 tablespoons of cajun seasoning to the gizzards as they simmered. - Instead of using the italian seasoning, I used approx. 1 tablespoon of cumin, smoked paprika, ground chipotle, and some cheyenne pepper. -I didn't have Louisiana style hot sauce, so I used Sriracha instead - I deep fried the gizzards in peanut oil - Finally, I used panko breading instead of flour for a little more crispy texture. These were so good! Super tender, and just the right amount of heat. Will totally use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I can't believe the difference when boiled first! And the broth gizzards created is delicious! Who knew?!? I did not do anything like this recipe said when it came to batter as I just did my own thing but I will boil first every time. I just put th on to simmering the morning and after I strained them put them in the fridge until I was ready to batter and fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smylies
Home Town: Sedan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I want to experiment with the seasoning package more ... even with the elimination of the hot sauce, it's a bit spicy for my tastes - think the pepper is the lead candidate there. However, the technique ... the Technique! Hearts & gizzards have been a favorite since childhood and my children loved them as well. Yet the tough, rubbery texture of the gizzards was always a discordant note. I'd never before heard of either boiling or deep frying this meat. Liked it before and now I'm ecstatic. Also love how it creates a nice stock for soup as well. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, pnutmommy; it will be a staple in my kitchen plus shared with family and friends alike. Best discovery of the many years I've been visiting AR !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Both my husband and I have made this recipe. It is easy and delicious. When I made it my oldest son and brother had to have the recipe to take home with them. Have tried several different recipes and this one tops them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter and while they were very tasty, I did not find that boiling them made them any more tender. I really thought it would as my mother would cook 2 whole chickens every Sunday when I was growing up (8 mouths to feed). She would cook the lives, gizzards and hearts for my dad but occasionally I'd get a gizzard and loved them. But she never boiled them first and they were always chewy as gizzards are. I was actually a little disappointed that they weren't more tender but they were still fantastic. Maybe next time I'll boil them longer (I went 2 hours on these). From the moment the water and vegetables came to a boil, the smell was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
So good... i love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States