Southern Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Very tender and delicious. Great way to tenderize what is usually a very chewy protein. My wife suggested pressure cooking them next time which seems like a great idea. They seemed a bit salty for my taste, I think the next time we will cut the salt in half, eliminate the italian seasoning and dip them in the fish breading mix we use. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I must have done something wrong. followed the recipe and they were way over done,too much cooking I think between the slow cook and the deep fry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Delicious, my husband ate the whole lb. himself. He said these were the best gizzards he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Auburn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
mmmm, mmmm, mmmm. Boiling the gizzards for 1 1/2 hours did the trick for me. The seasoning can be adjusted to any ones liking. Me...I preferred not to include all the extra dry seasoning. I did marinate them for about 1/2 hour in my home made hot sauce before flouring. What a wonderful treat to find this recipe. Thank you P.S. I give you two 5 stars for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These were awesome!!!!Very tender. I don't like Gizzards but I loved these. My husband is a gizzard eater but he thought these were amazing. Could not quit eating them. They were all gone and we wanted more. We are thinking about using bread crumbs to bread them next time though. The flour did not stay on very well during frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My family loves gizzards. This recipe is the only one I have found that does not leave you with chewy gizzards. Thank you for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newhall, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Yee-Haw! These are perfect! Since you only fry the gizzard for a minute or so, it's imperative to boil first to get the flavor and tenderness. I cut gizzards in half before cooking, and use House of Autry Chicken Breader (Publix) to coat. Batter sticks best if you bread them right after the boil, then wait a minute and shake on a second coat. I also sprinkle hot sauce after fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
EXCELLENT.I USED PRESSURE COOKER FOR ABOUT 10-15mins FASTER WAY TO MAKE IT TENDER :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Best gizzards I ever ate.We followed the recipe except left off the ranch dressing.Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Really good! Very tender. I did have to add more salt after I cooked them. And I slathered mine in hot sauce but everything else I kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States