Southern Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter and while they were very tasty, I did not find that boiling them made them any more tender. I really thought it would as my mother would cook 2 whole chickens every Sunday when I was growing up (8 mouths to feed). She would cook the lives, gizzards and hearts for my dad but occasionally I'd get a gizzard and loved them. But she never boiled them first and they were always chewy as gizzards are. I was actually a little disappointed that they weren't more tender but they were still fantastic. Maybe next time I'll boil them longer (I went 2 hours on these). From the moment the water and vegetables came to a boil, the smell was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
So good... i love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
These are the best way I have ever cooked them! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Very tender; kids love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. I have been eating fried gizzards all my life and part of the fun is the chewiness of the gizzard. I would make again for someone who can't chew well but as a true Southerner I like the chewy side of things. I do heavily season and boil gizzards when I make dirty rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Wow!! I didn't have some of the ingredients for this recipe, so I improvised. I've never made gizzards in my whole life and this turned out AMAZING! Follow this recipe at heart and you cannot go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaeli
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I've only really cooked gizzards using flour and seasoning like the second phase of this recipe. I never would have thought to precook them but it really seemed to tenderize the pieces as much as they can be tender. Addictive to eat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slothsan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I really liked the "chew", not too tough but still a lot of character. I read the reviews and some said that simmering for 1.5 hours was enough, so I split the difference and simmered for 2 hours. I removed the gizzards from the simmering pot straight into a zip top baggie, then added the marinating ingredients and marinated, then just dumped the 1 cup of flour in when I was ready to deep fry; I couldn't see the sense in removing them to a dish to marinate only to dump them into a baggie to flour them. I liked the lightly crunchy texture that the simple flour dredge gave them. I ate quite a few of these while watching the game, as did a friend. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
TENDER & TASTY! Ok, I never bother to rate recipes although, I pull many off of this site. But I HAD to let you all know that this is an excellent recipe. I grew up on fried chicken gizzards, being from TN, we actually had a restaurant near Nashville that specialized in fried gizzards. These are tender & delicious & much BETTER than what I grew up on! I mixed a dipping sauce, which I have never tried with gizzards, which I used Sour cream, garlic powder & Crystal hot sauce. I was seriously, scooping every last drop out of the bowl with my last gizzard. I will NEVER fry traditional, tough, chewy gizzards again! I can't wait to cook these for my Southern parents who are 73 years old. My Dad will complain that my Mom was doing it wrong all of these years! HA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is such a great recipe. It is the first time I have ever had gizzards that were tender. I used the broth for soup the next day and it was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States