Southern Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by C. Adele “Carrie” Williams
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
it was ok,extra boiling time definitely helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by seven_berries
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Great recipe! I followed the recipe but I used a little seasoned meat tenderizer and only boiled them for about 45min. Great flavor and my kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I have made chicken gizzards for a lot of years, but when I found this one, I now feel there is none like it. Soooo good & talk about tender. Bub, Vt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I was really looking forward to having some delicious gizzards when I found this recipe . After reading all the successful and very happy members who loved this recipe , I felt confident that this was the one I was looking for. Sadly I found this recipe way to salty and the gizzards were use as a vehicle to transport the flavor of the seasonings and by doing so lost their own flavor . I love the KFC gizzards. They are lightly breaded and full flavor as well as tender . Although these gizzards were very tender after boiling for 2 1/2 hours, I just feel the flavor of the seasonings overpowered the gizzards .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I never liked gizzards but being from the south everyone eats them. They have always been tough chewy and tastless. I made them this way and they are so tender crispy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. This will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I will never fry gizzards without boiling them first after eating these. It was amazing!! I hate chewy gizzards, its like eating gristle...I left out alot of the seasonings and used cornmeal/flour mix instead of just flour. Very crispy and the breading sticks so much better. The trick is cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I tried this recipe for my first time ever making gizzards (my husbands favorite). It was such a hit that I couldn't fry them up fast enough! My kids, husband, and his friend gobbled them up! Next time will probably at least double the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Tender! Brown til crispy! Don't underfry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made a few substitutions based on what I had laying in the cupboard. I used Siracha instead of the Louisiana-style hot sauce (increased quantity), garlic paste instead of garlic powder, and I didn't have celery so I used celery seeds. Ohh, and instead of flour, I used a panko-dill covering that I had left over from some fish I made this week. I thought it came out great! I've never had tender gizzards like this. i don't know how my version compares to the original, but this recipe is fairly flexible to tweaks and changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Verrilli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This is the first time I prepared gizzards. I actually used duck gizzards. They taste a lot like turkey. I wish the breading were thicker. Next time I would make a wet batter. Otherwise, this is THE recipe for fried gizzards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States