Southern Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Flavourful and moist. I would probably change the following on a second cooking: double-batter the catfish, add a touch more salt, and a dash of cayenne pepper. It just needed a bit of punch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shrimp Toast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Loved every bite! This is my go to cornmeal/flour ratio and the Old Bay added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I cooked this for the first time for family and friends and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This recipe is excellent—the fish turned out crispy and flakey, but still tender. I double breaded the filets, and had no trouble with the breading crumbling off. I only made a few slight variations... one teaspoon of Old Bay definitely wouldn't have been enough, so I used a tablespoon. Then i added a dash of lemon pepper and a hint of dill. The catfish turned out fantastic. Everyone (even my friend who hates catfish) loved it and there were no leftovers. There was, however, plenty of the milk mixture and breading left over. This recipe would easily allow you to make 2 pounds of catfish, probably more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Loved this! Like moms! And like her I soak catfish in buttermilk for 15 to 20 min. I know wild caught, but is a habit with all cats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I always eliminate the buttermilk stage, never thought it added a thing to the taste. But the seasoning of the cornmeal and flour is spot on. If you are having trouble getting the batter to stick, place prepared catfish in the freezer for 15-20 min. Then go directly to the hot oil. At 375 degrees the fish will be crispy brown in about 7-8 min, turning once. If you want to pump up the golden color of the fish, add 1/4 tea of turmeric to the cornmeal mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
One of the better fried catfish I've made! Didn't have OLD Bay at the house so i looked up the spices and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
it is a little bland i use straight buttermilk everything else plus itilian bread crumbs and plenty of salt and pepper,mix ketchup with louisiana sauce for dipping,no more bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this tonight, and was very good. Just like the recipe calls for. Thanks- got it saved in recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Not clumpy, came out crispy, didn't absorb grease. Batter stayed just fine. It was all about the fish, not the batter. Will add more spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States