Southern Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I always eliminate the buttermilk stage, never thought it added a thing to the taste. But the seasoning of the cornmeal and flour is spot on. If you are having trouble getting the batter to stick, place prepared catfish in the freezer for 15-20 min. Then go directly to the hot oil. At 375 degrees the fish will be crispy brown in about 7-8 min, turning once. If you want to pump up the golden color of the fish, add 1/4 tea of turmeric to the cornmeal mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
One of the better fried catfish I've made! Didn't have OLD Bay at the house so i looked up the spices and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
it is a little bland i use straight buttermilk everything else plus itilian bread crumbs and plenty of salt and pepper,mix ketchup with louisiana sauce for dipping,no more bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this tonight, and was very good. Just like the recipe calls for. Thanks- got it saved in recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Not clumpy, came out crispy, didn't absorb grease. Batter stayed just fine. It was all about the fish, not the batter. Will add more spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this for my grandson and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pennsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
A very nice, very authentic southern recipe. I didn't have buttermilk so I made my own with regular milk and lemon juice - worked just fine. I wanted extra crispy, so I also added a second dredge through the cornmeal mix, with a dip in egg between the first and second dredge. Was excellent, without being too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
'Like almost everyone else said, yes, crispy; not "wow" crispy, but not "eh" either. That's more to do with the oil temp, I think. Yes, bland - even with adding some cayenne (not enough). Way too much coating leftover. Use less if you try it. 'Think I'll try Cornmeal Coating or a beer batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Crispy and stuck on the fish well, but like the other reviews said, it was bland. Even my 13 year old said so. I sprinkled extra old bay on it after it was finished but that wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was great! My children ate it all and it satisfied our craving for fried catfish. I took the advice of letting the fish sit for a few minutes after I battered it, I had no problems with the batter falling off in the fryer. We thought it could use more spice/flavor, so I applied Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning and more Old Bay after it was cooked. Lemons and tartar sauce, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States