Southern Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I personally hate fish of any kind but my boyfriend is a huge fried catfish fan. He said it was the best fried catfish he has ever had! The trick is after you bread the fish let it rest for 5 to 10 minutes. This way you wwill not have problems with the breading falling off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Ash*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Libby, Montana, USA
Photo by Abby Smith
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
2 minutes into frying, the batter came off the catfish. Maybe an egg in the buttermilk mixture would help. (I usually use whole milk and egg)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was a very easy recipe, It was de-licious- !, I didnt have the buttermilk, just used regular, and it still was a hit at the dinner table
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
The breading was crisp, stayed on the fish and the fish was flaky. The only draw back was it was a bit bland. We were expecting a little more zing with the Old Bay, but it didn't deliver. Being from the South ourselves, we were a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was really good. The catfish turned out nice and crispy. My whole family enjoyed this recipe. I wouldn't change the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Batter stayed on the fish which was a plus, but the recipe lacked flavor. Next time I will triple the bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
this diffantly works but i also suggest adding an egg wash to the buttermilk and water mixture and make sure your grease is hot enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
To sour 1 cup of regular milk, just add a T or two of white vinegar and let sit for 10 minutes. I gave this a 4 because I dredged the fish in flour before wet ingredients. Nice flavor. Don't forget the malt vinegar either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed these and even the leftovers were good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
So GOOD! The fish was perfectly flavored and was so yummy ..a great southern classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States