Southern Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Just made this for dinner but had to use regular cornmeal. I'm at temporary lodging so I didn't have a food processor to break up the cornmeal. With that said, I thought the batter was too gritty but it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Easy and good, just greasy! (But I guess that's what makes it good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
My husband made this recipe just as is, except omitting the seafood seasoning (he doesn't like spicy). The rest of the family would have enjoyed the kick, but maybe next time! Anyway, it was delicious, moist and the breading was to die for. It reminded us of the meals we were served when we visited family in North Carolina. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynnergyrl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Excellent! I doubled the recipe and had plenty of liquid dip and batter for 5 lbs of catfish. Our catfish were pretty thick and a few of the pieces should have been cooked a little bit more. Next time, I'll either cut them through the biggest part of the fish or cook another 30 seconds or so. We used an outdoor camping wok and it worked so great. It was a huge hit with everyone and we plan to cook it again on our labor day camping trip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollypendleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Read the reviews and decided to add more seasoning to the mix. Over all it is a good recipe and I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Temples

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Batter stayed on the fish which was a plus, but the recipe lacked flavor. Next time I will triple the bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I screwed this recipe up royally and it still turned out really well. The buttermilk I had in the fridge had gone bad so I had to use a beaten egg and a couple tablespoons of whole milk instead. Then I read the measurement for the cornmeal wrong and used only ½ cup. But my husband still loved it and I can’t wait to try the recipe again as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
The breading was crisp, stayed on the fish and the fish was flaky. The only draw back was it was a bit bland. We were expecting a little more zing with the Old Bay, but it didn't deliver. Being from the South ourselves, we were a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I haven't had time to read ALL 700+ reviews, so this might have already been noted. We made 2pounds of catfish and still had gobs of leftover cornmeal mixture. Next time I'm cutting that part in half. Also, as some have noted, I will use at least 3x as much bay seasoning. All and all, the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Yes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenderbelle61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States