Southern Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
First time trying catfish,used this recipe but doubled the old bay,LOVEDIt,will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I loved the texture of the batter, but thought it was bland also. I used Weber's Boston Bay seafood seasoning and doubled the amount plus added some seasoned black pepper, but still lacked the flavor for me. I decided to sprinkle some of the seasoning directly on the fish after I fried it and it was perfect! Hubby said it was perfect too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I am not a catfish person my boyfriend is. He said that it lacked flavor. He said that it really needed more seasoning...I even tried it and agreed. I will be looking for another recipe with a little more pizazz! This just didn't do it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
very easy, also worked well with cod excellent tasting and super easy to prepare I would not change a thing. I put the breaded fish in the refer for about 20 minutes before I fried it. the breading stayed on and was delish irishtrout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe last night after reading a few of the reviews. I tripled the Old Bay Seasoning, as was suggested, and it still wasn't as flavorful as expected BUT everyone loved it. I did not have trouble with the crust sticking but prior to cooking I read several fish recipes from other sites that suggested heating the oil first while preparing everything else and don't overcrowd the pan because it lowers the oil temp. The crust is amazing and browned perfectly. Next time I'll just add more salt, pepper and Old Bay. So fast and easy!! And the kids asked for seconds and thirds. Who can argue with that?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I used creole seasoning instead of old bay. This came out so wonderful. the darker the crust the better it sticks! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent breading, we used crappie and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This recipe was a big hit with my family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
To sour 1 cup of regular milk, just add a T or two of white vinegar and let sit for 10 minutes. I gave this a 4 because I dredged the fish in flour before wet ingredients. Nice flavor. Don't forget the malt vinegar either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
So GOOD! The fish was perfectly flavored and was so yummy ..a great southern classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States