Southern Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
'Like almost everyone else said, yes, crispy; not "wow" crispy, but not "eh" either. That's more to do with the oil temp, I think. Yes, bland - even with adding some cayenne (not enough). Way too much coating leftover. Use less if you try it. 'Think I'll try Cornmeal Coating or a beer batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Crispy and stuck on the fish well, but like the other reviews said, it was bland. Even my 13 year old said so. I sprinkled extra old bay on it after it was finished but that wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was great! My children ate it all and it satisfied our craving for fried catfish. I took the advice of letting the fish sit for a few minutes after I battered it, I had no problems with the batter falling off in the fryer. We thought it could use more spice/flavor, so I applied Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning and more Old Bay after it was cooked. Lemons and tartar sauce, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
First time trying catfish,used this recipe but doubled the old bay,LOVEDIt,will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I loved the texture of the batter, but thought it was bland also. I used Weber's Boston Bay seafood seasoning and doubled the amount plus added some seasoned black pepper, but still lacked the flavor for me. I decided to sprinkle some of the seasoning directly on the fish after I fried it and it was perfect! Hubby said it was perfect too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I am not a catfish person my boyfriend is. He said that it lacked flavor. He said that it really needed more seasoning...I even tried it and agreed. I will be looking for another recipe with a little more pizazz! This just didn't do it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
very easy, also worked well with cod excellent tasting and super easy to prepare I would not change a thing. I put the breaded fish in the refer for about 20 minutes before I fried it. the breading stayed on and was delish irishtrout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe last night after reading a few of the reviews. I tripled the Old Bay Seasoning, as was suggested, and it still wasn't as flavorful as expected BUT everyone loved it. I did not have trouble with the crust sticking but prior to cooking I read several fish recipes from other sites that suggested heating the oil first while preparing everything else and don't overcrowd the pan because it lowers the oil temp. The crust is amazing and browned perfectly. Next time I'll just add more salt, pepper and Old Bay. So fast and easy!! And the kids asked for seconds and thirds. Who can argue with that?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I used creole seasoning instead of old bay. This came out so wonderful. the darker the crust the better it sticks! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent breading, we used crappie and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States