Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This is the best fried cabbage recipe I've ever had! The flavor is wonderful. I've made it twice now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly, but decided to make a few changes when I made it the second time. I didn't use the oil for frying the bacon (you really don't need it) and I took the bacon out of the pan when it was done. It gets a bit soggy after you add the cabbage because of all of the natural moisture coming out of the cabbage as it cooks. I added it back in when the dish was almost done. I also found that it needs more time to cook, but I guess that's a matter of personal choice as to how crisp you want the cabbage. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
631 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Fuore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This has become a family favorite of ours that we crave! The only thing I did differently was saute the onions on the side and then added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
512 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great recipe, but I think it is better if you double the bacon and omit the vegetable oil. Next time, I also will take the suggestion of dipping out the bacon before adding the cabbage and onion, then adding the bacon back after the cabbage and onion have been fried. The bacon does get a little soggy if you keep it all in the pot together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Oh the memories this dish brings back! I am a southern girl who practicaly grew up on this stuff, but haven't made it for my family because we try to stay away from fried food as much as possible. On a whim I made this tonight.I cooked the bacon first, didn't add any extra oil, in fact,poured a little out, added a bit of minced garlic, caraway seeds and celery seed. I also threw in the crumbled cook bacon during the last couple of minutes. As I was making this, I remembered that my Mother and Grandmother kept a lid on it and lifted it now and then to stir, which differs a bit from this recipe as it says to stir continuously. So I cooked it with the lid on , and it was perfect! my husband raved on and on about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I agree, omit the oil and maybe some extra bacon, but I have always added splash of red wine vinegar to fried cabbage and use brown sugar for the white. It seems to add that little something. I also cook mine longer and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Great recipe! I took the advice of others: I eliminated the vegetable oil, doubled the bacon, and removed the bacon before adding the cabbage and onion, and returned it when the cabbage was almost done. I also didn't stir it as much. I placed a lid on the pan which helped seal in the flavors of the seasonings. Mmmm... Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aggie
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This brings back fond memories of my mama's kitchen. Cheap, too, especially in the spring. I did make a few changes - left out the oil and used just the bacon drippings. Left out the onions. Removed the bacon before adding the cabbage, then added it back just before I was ready to serve. Also cooked it a little longer, till it was just done - a touch crispy and not a bit limp. I will be using this recipe a lot this spring and summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Loved this recipe. My hubby loves southern comfort food, but it takes so long to prepare. I tried this recipe hoping to have "southern" cabbage and cut down on the cooking time. It worked! The only reason I give it 4 stars is you do need to cook it a bit longer than the directions for true "southern" cabbage. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevnDave

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Super easy and very delicious. I didn't use the oil but used the fat from the bacon which I think gives the recipe more flavor. You can also cook some wide egg noddles and mix the cabbage with it and it makes it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Good basic recipe for fried cabbage like my mom always made. But here are a few tips: 1)Please don't use the extra veg oil - too greasy. The bacon fat will be more than enough if you follow tip two. 2)After cooking the bacon, remove it and put the chopped cabbage right into the the hot oil. Cover with a lid immediately and turn your heat down a little. This causes a fry/steam. The water in the cabbage keeps the cooking going without burning. 3)I add a pinch of sugar to cut down the acid/tang a bit. and 4)Add a pinch of baking soda to also cut the acid and reduce some of that gas that cabbage can produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States