Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This is the best fried cabbage recipe I've ever had! The flavor is wonderful. I've made it twice now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly, but decided to make a few changes when I made it the second time. I didn't use the oil for frying the bacon (you really don't need it) and I took the bacon out of the pan when it was done. It gets a bit soggy after you add the cabbage because of all of the natural moisture coming out of the cabbage as it cooks. I added it back in when the dish was almost done. I also found that it needs more time to cook, but I guess that's a matter of personal choice as to how crisp you want the cabbage. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
585 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CT_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This has become a family favorite of ours that we crave! The only thing I did differently was saute the onions on the side and then added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
488 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great recipe, but I think it is better if you double the bacon and omit the vegetable oil. Next time, I also will take the suggestion of dipping out the bacon before adding the cabbage and onion, then adding the bacon back after the cabbage and onion have been fried. The bacon does get a little soggy if you keep it all in the pot together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Oh the memories this dish brings back! I am a southern girl who practicaly grew up on this stuff, but haven't made it for my family because we try to stay away from fried food as much as possible. On a whim I made this tonight.I cooked the bacon first, didn't add any extra oil, in fact,poured a little out, added a bit of minced garlic, caraway seeds and celery seed. I also threw in the crumbled cook bacon during the last couple of minutes. As I was making this, I remembered that my Mother and Grandmother kept a lid on it and lifted it now and then to stir, which differs a bit from this recipe as it says to stir continuously. So I cooked it with the lid on , and it was perfect! my husband raved on and on about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I agree, omit the oil and maybe some extra bacon, but I have always added splash of red wine vinegar to fried cabbage and use brown sugar for the white. It seems to add that little something. I also cook mine longer and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Great recipe! I took the advice of others: I eliminated the vegetable oil, doubled the bacon, and removed the bacon before adding the cabbage and onion, and returned it when the cabbage was almost done. I also didn't stir it as much. I placed a lid on the pan which helped seal in the flavors of the seasonings. Mmmm... Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aggie
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This brings back fond memories of my mama's kitchen. Cheap, too, especially in the spring. I did make a few changes - left out the oil and used just the bacon drippings. Left out the onions. Removed the bacon before adding the cabbage, then added it back just before I was ready to serve. Also cooked it a little longer, till it was just done - a touch crispy and not a bit limp. I will be using this recipe a lot this spring and summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Loved this recipe. My hubby loves southern comfort food, but it takes so long to prepare. I tried this recipe hoping to have "southern" cabbage and cut down on the cooking time. It worked! The only reason I give it 4 stars is you do need to cook it a bit longer than the directions for true "southern" cabbage. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevnDave

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Super easy and very delicious. I didn't use the oil but used the fat from the bacon which I think gives the recipe more flavor. You can also cook some wide egg noddles and mix the cabbage with it and it makes it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is the way moma always made it!! Wonderful! A true southern recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States