Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is an old German recipe---Add about two or three Tbs. cider vinegar and it's a sweet and sour fried cabbage that I've enjoyed for the past 80 years and still loving it. I also dice up the core of the cabbage (no need to waste it) and cook it too. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I use salt pork fried up crisp and chopped into small pieces in place of the bacon. I use nothing but the salt pork, cabbage and enough water to cover the cabbage. Awesome and one of my families favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very good cabbage. Next time I would like to use less vegetable oil. Served with steak and PW's Crash Hot Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I love cabbage, but didn't care for this. Greasy and bland. I don't do bacon, so left that out (which I always do on recipes & usually the food is still amazing... not so with this one). Don't like to waste food so I'll figure out a way to make this edible... maybe red pepper & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My family loves this recipe. It has a wonderful taste and so good with Ribs or Steak. We have a lot of get togethers with friends and family and there are never any left overs. Thank so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is one if the best ever fried cabbage receipes. My family lived it. I also added skinned chicken thighs. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
One of the best traditional southern cabbage dishes I have found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
With the cabbage ready to gather out of the garden this recipe came in handy. We all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I love this cabbage. It is excellent! I never make a recipe I see on this site more than once. I have made this several times. It is now one of my favorite things to add to dinner. Thank you for the great simple recipe that tastes like you made a fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Made this twice. The first time exactly as written, the second time, I omitted the oil and doubled the bacon, just using the bacon grease to cook the cabbage in. It's so much better this way. Oh, and a tablespoon of sugar instead of a pinch. So good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States