Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very easy, indeed! I didn't have the onion so I used the white bulb part of the green onions I had and added maybe1/2 tsp of onion powder. I used a wonderful Hormels Turkey bacon without much fat so I did use the oil recommended. We both...especially my very selective husband....loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe it was my first time cooking cabbage. I must say it was delicious... However, I dbl the bacon anddid not include the Veg oil. My husband & I loved it. I can't wait to cook the cabbage again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Very good. Warning, All the ideas in the comments are good but this dish is Best kept simple. I made mine with red onions and some balsamic vinegar. Kind of like the recipe for "Pancetta Fried Cabbage". It tasted kind of German and would be great with fried potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by dalstar
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I make this all the time. Instead of using vegetable oil I use bacon drippings and omit the sugar. I also use sweet onions instead of white onions. Preferably Vidalia onions. Try it using this variation I think it tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Wow! Can't get enough! I did not use the oil or the sugar. I fried the bacon and set aside, used some of the bacon grease and sauteed the onions and cabbage then added the crumbled bacon back in. This is super easy, delicious and nutritious! Thanks for the recipe.....just like grandma used to make! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is really good, it reminds me of that down home cooking. i made the recipe as is except I did cook it longer then stated, but that's how we like it. Thanks JNADX3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This recipe is completely simple. Kinda too simple. I doubled the bacon (used turkey bacon) and didn't cook it in oil. Also, I cooked the cabbage for longer. I am not a big cabbage lover so this recipe was just ok for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This is a wonderfully delicious fried cabbage recipe. My kids loved it and my husband couldn't get enough of it. I added a little crushed red pepper while cooking the bacon for a nice little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missmonise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Good morning I used Alaea Hawaiian sea salt and balsamic fig vinaigrette. It was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This recipe was good I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States