Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious! I followed the other suggestions and didn't use oil and cooked double the bacon. Removed the bacon from the pot when it was done cooking. I took just a bit of the bacon grease and sautéed the onions for just a bit. Meanwhile, cooked the cabbage for a few minutes, added the onions in and other ingredients. When nearly done, crumbled the bacon into the cabbage mix. Made some black-eyed peas to go along side. Seriously delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
OMG! Cabbage is not a favorite of mine. However, my husband wanted it for New Year's Day. I did a research on southern cooking for cabbage and came across this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly without adding anything extra. It was the best that I had since growing up in the south. This will be one to add to my recipe box! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Oh my goodness I cannot stop eating this cabbage! I didn't use the oil, otherwise I followed the recipe and it's just too good!! Will be my go-to from now, on. Thank you for the awesome recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
We tried this one and another one with vinegar added....we loved both of them so I guess we just like cabbage! But really, this one is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Quick, easy and SOOOOO delicious! I think those who don't like cabbage would fall in love with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I cooked the bacon first, in the pot. Added the cabbage leaves, a pinch of sugar and other seasonings. Came out great. I believe omitting the oil helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This is a great recipe and sometimes I add in thinly stripped pork or chicken to make it a whole meal in one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very easy, indeed! I didn't have the onion so I used the white bulb part of the green onions I had and added maybe1/2 tsp of onion powder. I used a wonderful Hormels Turkey bacon without much fat so I did use the oil recommended. We both...especially my very selective husband....loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe it was my first time cooking cabbage. I must say it was delicious... However, I dbl the bacon anddid not include the Veg oil. My husband & I loved it. I can't wait to cook the cabbage again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Very good. Warning, All the ideas in the comments are good but this dish is Best kept simple. I made mine with red onions and some balsamic vinegar. Kind of like the recipe for "Pancetta Fried Cabbage". It tasted kind of German and would be great with fried potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States