Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Good morning I used Alaea Hawaiian sea salt and balsamic fig vinaigrette. It was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This recipe was good I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Loved this recipe!!!! Made it yesterday for our extended family and even the kids who don't normally like cabbage "loved" it. ( their words). I added about a cup of juice from the corned beef that had cooked all day in the slow cooker and that added even mores flavor t this recipe. Really great, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
A great basic recipe for cooked cabbage. Used about half the oil, not much onion and some corned beef. Just frying the cabbage with oil, sugar, salt, pepper and about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar was a GREAT addition to an otherwise heavy meal. Loved the crunch, texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This cabbage was really yummy.. next time I will use less oil.. But my boyfriend loved it better than the main course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Used twice the bacon and half the onion and it's so yummy. We did cook it a little longer, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was very good, easy, & cheap. I followed the advice from the comments, doubled the bacon and omitted the oil, added some garlic, celery seed and a bit of cider vinegar, also had to cook it a good bit longer than indicated, maybe it's because I had a large cabbage! And I took the bacon out then added it back in at the end so it would not get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolas Galler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used this recipe as a guide. I didn't have bacon but did have leftover bacon grease and I only used a few tablespoons of bacon grease. I left out the onion since we had onions in other dishes for dinner. This turned out great and is my favorite way to eat cabbage now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I used red cabbage instead of green cabbage. I cooked 4 strips of bacon until they were super crispy & set them aside. I sauteed the onion & cabbage in the bacon drippings with salt & pepper until wilted & slightly carmelized. Once done cooking, I crumbled the bacon & added it to the cabbage & onions. Really good. I omitted the sugar as the cabbage is a bit sweet on its own. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was just like my MamMaw & Aunt Lula used to make. Quick & easy way to get your husband to Love cabbage! Like others suggested, I rendered bacon fat while cooking and omitted the oil. We are a bacon loving house, so I added a few more pieces of crumbled bacon & placed that on top of cabbage after it was plated so the bacon would stay crisp. This was a good way to use some of those tougher, outer green leaves. Since we are empty nesters now, this was an easy recipe to make in a small portion so we didn't have any left over. I had planned on enough leftovers for lunch the next day, but my husband went back for thirds! He's already asked when we can have this again! Great dish for fall when fresh cabbage is plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States