Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Fabulous! Served with Pork Chops with apples (found on allrecipes) and sweet potatoes. Perfect southern meal. I did drain the bacon grease off because don't like that much grease. I made it just like the recipe and wouldn't change anything about it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Marie
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I loved this recipe. The only change I made was I used bacon bits because I didn't have any bacon on hand. I will definately be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I love this cabbage recipe because it's so easy and because the taste is wonderful. It's good with or without the bacon. It's so very fast to make and goes great with so many main dishes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this tonight and it is delicious, who knew the missing ingredient in my cabbage was onions! I did add 3 more strips of bacon and some garlic, (we love garlic), but I bet it didn't even need it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaaronie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was really good, my husband loved it. I used red cabbage only because the green cabbage heads were all to big for just the two of us. I also used a 100% natural sausage, as my husband cannot have any presertives in his food. I cooked it in a little butter and olive oil.Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I'm what my husband would call a yankee, so I'm not sure what this is suppose to taste like, but I thought it was pretty good. I used shredded red cabbage b/c that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Illinois, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I had to make this without bacon, because I didn't have any. I used a little garlic powder in the vegetable oil and made it the rest of the way suggested. This was AWESOME. Even my husband who doesn't like veggies loved it. I bet it's even better with the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I have made this twice now. Once without bacon and once with it and both time it was excellent. It is now in regular rotation in our house! We had it with perogies and sausage. The perfect comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
on a scale of 1-5, i'd give it a 19! sounded good, but I was completely blown away by the taste. Took other reviewer's comment of increasing bacon to 6 slices. when I prepared it, I found I had 7. Recipe was not clear about draining bacon grease...so I just left it in the pot, followed the recipe as listed. Made this for just my wife and I. We polished it off completely. Definately has found a home on a regular basis. Felt sorry, though, for the main course. It had to find a back seat to this. My wife and I kept saying WOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monessen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
My husband and I love this! Eventhough I am from MS I had never had this. Great alternative to traditional boiled cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doublemint

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States