Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I used pre shredded cabbage...so simple! Was just delicious! I would double the bacon and throw another pinch of sugar in... just remove a little of the bacon grease if necessary so its crispy and not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Yummy:) Ate the whole thing. In my defense I am pregnant:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was delicious! I used a little butter instead oil, and like other reviewers removed the bacon before adding in the cabbage. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva Nay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is delicious. I didn’t use the vegetable oil but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My husband who doesn’t care for cabbage enjoyed it and my kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was great! I couldn't cut the oil out as I used turkey bacon, so I subbed olive oil for the veg. oil. I also added some red pepper flakes. Yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
really good. will definitely make it again. no leftovers for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I had to prepare this without bacon. But I was still able to prepare cabbage with the pan drippings from the Consomme Pork Chop recipe on this site. I added a couple of pats of real butter, a couple of tablespoons of olive oil and then followed the recipe as stated. was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was delicious! I reduced the oil to about half. My family loved it, including my very fussy daughter. I actually served this with Pulled Pork and it went perfectly together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was fabulous! It tastes just like what my Grandmother used to make. I used 5 slices of turkey bacon and just 1/8 C of olive oil. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I wasn't sure if my hubby would like it but he absolutely loved it. This will definitely be added into our list of regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great recipe, but I don't use any oil...just spray my pan with pam, cut up lots of bacon in 1/2" squares and fry it up, with the bacon and grease still in pan add a whole head of SAVOY cabbage (cut of course)and an onion. For seasoning I add 1 packet of GOYA Ham flavoring...no salt or pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States