Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Good basic recipe for fried cabbage like my mom always made. But here are a few tips: 1)Please don't use the extra veg oil - too greasy. The bacon fat will be more than enough if you follow tip two. 2)After cooking the bacon, remove it and put the chopped cabbage right into the the hot oil. Cover with a lid immediately and turn your heat down a little. This causes a fry/steam. The water in the cabbage keeps the cooking going without burning. 3)I add a pinch of sugar to cut down the acid/tang a bit. and 4)Add a pinch of baking soda to also cut the acid and reduce some of that gas that cabbage can produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Great start to a wonderful dish, but it truly needed more flavor. I used much more bacon than stated, therefore didn't need to use the oil at all. Family loved it and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I followed other reviewer suggestions and added more bacon leaving out the vegetable oil. It was very yummy, but the recipe calls for way too much pepper. I only used half the recommended amount and it was still quite strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was my first time cooking cabbage and this recipe was great. I followed it to the letter and was tempted to eat it all by myself. My husband who is not a big cabbage eater enjoyed it as well. Will definitely save this recipe to make for years to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is the best ever. I added some garlic powder to it but this is a dish that I could sit down and eat the entire dish. Thanks for sharing this recipe. This will be made many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I did take the oil out as well, and this was EXACTLY what I had hoped it would be. As a pregnant mommy, I have been craving this dish, and it did NOT disappoint. Will make over and over again. So simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Heikkinen Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Very good. Took suggestion on leaving out the oil and it was very falvorful. Fisrt time making and will make again. Also needs to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Very good! First attempt at fried cabbage. Left out oil as suggested and doubled bacon. Will definately make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Brown-Fort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I am from the south and I must say that this is the BEST cabbage I have ever tasted. When I make it people are always asking me how I made it and I will never reveal my secret to them. Shhh! This is the best kept secret ever! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States