Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Just like grandma used to make. Mmmm. Perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This recipe is great ,But I put egg noodles in it and it is really mouth watering.We use it as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was delicious!!!! Instead of vegetable oil and bacon, I used EVOO and turkey bacon and it turned out wonderful. This one is a keeper, will be cooking this again!!! UPDATE - - 12/11/11. I made this again last night. I used regular bacon and instead of 2 Tablespoons of water, I had a some chicken broth that needed to be used so I used that instead. Still DELISH!!!! I will continue to use this recipe. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Excellent. I used turkey bacon and replaced half the oil with butter. I made this to go with our corned beef roast for St. Patty's and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
not the healthiest but a nice comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is the delicious way of cooking cabbage!! You could add some cut up yellow squash for extra color and flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grenada, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Weaverville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I had never tried this, but was doing a Southern cooking night and wanted to try something new. We really enjoyed this! I didn't use any veg. oil and I still thought it was a little greasy, but the mix of flavors was great! I added some garlic, as well as onion powder and paprika. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Great recipe although I dont eat pork (bacon)! Tried it with turkey bacon and just ok...so I tried adding a beef bullion cube and sliced a carrot next time and it turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wow! Normally I hate cabbage, but this tasted great! I was out of bacon, so I fried it up with a little breakfast sausage instead. I served it with the Southern Ham and Brown Beans recipe from this site and some hot cornbread, and the cabbage was the first thing gone. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
My husband and I were pleasantly surprised, this was really good. Just him and I were eating it so I used half the cabbage, didn't use the oil, used the same amount of bacon, onion, but added more sugar. This went along great with our broiled pork steaks. Next time I might add some chopped apple in it. 9-7-12 This time I used turkey bacon and apples, still just as scrumptious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States