Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This went over well and didn't last past the night. It is simple and flavorul. I will be making this quite often! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Not the healthiest way to prepare, but was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I have made this apple butter 2 times, and was delicious. But, I used 1 cup of splenda, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar, being as the apples were sweet. I also added to the recipe 2 heaping tsp. of apple pie spice. Was very good! MaryAnn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is a really good recipe for cooked cabbage. I added a little black pepper for more flavor and an extra dash of sugar. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was great! This was my first ever attempt at fried cabbage! I made it exactly as stated, using an electric skillet.. It turned out perfect! I was afraid hubby wouldn't like it but he loved it, and my 8 yr old daughter did too! We will definitely make this again! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmsweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is a really easy and quick recipe. I added more bacon otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The family really liked it...even my non-veggie eater son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is good stuff. I did add a bit more bacon. I used turkey bacon because that's what I had, but it needs real bacon. I also did not 'stir continuously' for five minutes. Instead I put a lid on it for about five minutes and stirred occasionally until it was tender. My wife loved it. I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Good basic recipe for fried cabbage like my mom always made. But here are a few tips: 1)Please don't use the extra veg oil - too greasy. The bacon fat will be more than enough if you follow tip two. 2)After cooking the bacon, remove it and put the chopped cabbage right into the the hot oil. Cover with a lid immediately and turn your heat down a little. This causes a fry/steam. The water in the cabbage keeps the cooking going without burning. 3)I add a pinch of sugar to cut down the acid/tang a bit. and 4)Add a pinch of baking soda to also cut the acid and reduce some of that gas that cabbage can produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Great start to a wonderful dish, but it truly needed more flavor. I used much more bacon than stated, therefore didn't need to use the oil at all. Family loved it and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I followed other reviewer suggestions and added more bacon leaving out the vegetable oil. It was very yummy, but the recipe calls for way too much pepper. I only used half the recommended amount and it was still quite strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States