Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I had never tried this, but was doing a Southern cooking night and wanted to try something new. We really enjoyed this! I didn't use any veg. oil and I still thought it was a little greasy, but the mix of flavors was great! I added some garlic, as well as onion powder and paprika. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Great recipe although I dont eat pork (bacon)! Tried it with turkey bacon and just ok...so I tried adding a beef bullion cube and sliced a carrot next time and it turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wow! Normally I hate cabbage, but this tasted great! I was out of bacon, so I fried it up with a little breakfast sausage instead. I served it with the Southern Ham and Brown Beans recipe from this site and some hot cornbread, and the cabbage was the first thing gone. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
My husband and I were pleasantly surprised, this was really good. Just him and I were eating it so I used half the cabbage, didn't use the oil, used the same amount of bacon, onion, but added more sugar. This went along great with our broiled pork steaks. Next time I might add some chopped apple in it. 9-7-12 This time I used turkey bacon and apples, still just as scrumptious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
yummy even my 3 yr old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Can't believe how easy it is. I've been making it more difficult than it has to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great Dish! It is super easy to put together. I only adjusted the cooking time as I like my cabbage tender. Once all the ingredients were combined I covered the skillet on low. Super Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
awesome! cooked with leftover Christmas ham chunks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
absolutely love fried cabbage, its great with sweet water cornbread and chicken. After using this recipe, I make it all the time, turkey bacon is a great substitute for the pork bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Really good flavor...i'd probably do half the pepper next time as it was somewhat spicy to the family, but overall it was really good. Also increase your cook time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Zeta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States