Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Its not even dinner time yet but Ive been robbing it out of the pot... surely its wrong to like cabbage so much?!! Am in Germany and bacon isnt as widely available so I bought some diced stuff which is almost the same anyway! Yummy xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
We make this a lot at our house, but I use shedded coleslaw in a bag. Fry slivered bacon with onion, then add coleslaw. Mix together and cover with lid. Simmer for about 10 minutes, then add salt and fresh ground pepper and 2 tbsp of sourcream. Mix together and serve. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Very good! I made it without the bacon as I am a vegetarian, and it was still awesome. I was curious what the sugar would bring to the dish, but it turned out perfect. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was my first time making cabbage and it was soooo good! My family loved it and it's going in our recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is very good and tasty. Like others suggested, I add fried bacon after cabbage is done. I saute onion in bacon grease. I don't add veggie oil but I add 1 tbs butter or margarine to cabbage and 1 pack of Goya ham seasoning. It is very good. Thanks for sharing a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Crab Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great! I used 1/4 lb. diced ham steak because I didn't have the bacon and it turned out great! We will definitely be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
So yummy. My hubby learned to make this as a kid. His family's housekeeper was very southern! We like to use 4 or 5 slices of bacon and little or no oil. It really doesn't need the extra oil. You can add a little chicken broth if it needs more moisture though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I thought this recipe was great just as it was. I have tried it exactly, and also tried it with extra bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
There is nothing like southern cooking! People always look at cabbage to be a bland dish, but the bacon and sugar add alot to it. I love to change it up and use salt pork and even hamocks. Really any type of pork will flavor this dish real well. I prefer my cabbage roughly chopped instead of stredded or sliced but this seriously is the best cabbage recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZombieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Just like grandma used to make. Mmmm. Perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States