Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Loved it! Just the right amount of everything. It makes a huge amount though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sage12177

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This cabbage is very good, i like other reviewers cooked the cabbage in the bacon grease after removing the bacon and added the bacon back in at the end,crumbled on top so that it would maintain its crispness. I also cooked the cabbage much longer than 5 minutes as I do not like it crisp. I prefer it well wilted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is the easiest and best fried cabbage anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottsharp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I like to add a couple of thin-sliced tart apples. Saute them in the bacon grease with the onion. Brown sugar instead of white and just a dash of white vinegar. We had this at a pioneer re-enactment village made over a woodstove and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I left out the sugar and used about 2 tablespoons of butter instead of the oil. I also cooked it a bit differently- cooked the bacon then removed it, added the butter to the skillet and cooked the onion for a couple minutes, then added the cabbage and cooked it, stirring occasionally, for about 10-15 minutes until the cabbage was cooked as much as I wanted. Then added salt and pepper and the crumbled bacon. It was really good! Very cheap and easy and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was my 2nd time making cabbage and I followed this recipe almost exactly and it was AWESOME. Even my partner who hates cabbage ate it and loved it. I did add diced smoked sausage to it and sauted the sausage and some onions with the bacon. I omitted the oil and added some flaked red pepper (a pinch), a bit more sugar than the recipe calls for and a tablespoon of applesauce. Yes applesauce which heightened the sweetness and flavor. I cooked it longer than teh recipe calls for because I like cabbage soft. This was really good. We ate the whole pan. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Its not even dinner time yet but Ive been robbing it out of the pot... surely its wrong to like cabbage so much?!! Am in Germany and bacon isnt as widely available so I bought some diced stuff which is almost the same anyway! Yummy xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
We make this a lot at our house, but I use shedded coleslaw in a bag. Fry slivered bacon with onion, then add coleslaw. Mix together and cover with lid. Simmer for about 10 minutes, then add salt and fresh ground pepper and 2 tbsp of sourcream. Mix together and serve. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Very good! I made it without the bacon as I am a vegetarian, and it was still awesome. I was curious what the sugar would bring to the dish, but it turned out perfect. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States