Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Love this recipe but you do not need the vegetable oil, the bacon grease is plenty. I also cook the bacon whole and then crumble it in at the end. Yummy! Making it again tonight, its my husbands favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Maineville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I made this for both Thanksgiving and Christmas this year. It was so good that I was asked to double the recipe for Christmas. This is now a family favorite. I substituted pork bacon for chicken bacon and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
made this for texas new year....in a word outstanding, with black eye peas, corn bread, just excellent, did remove the bacon (6 slices) and added it when the cabbage was done, other than that NO changes. used about 3 lbs of cabbage..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Thankful4Two
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Delicious!!! My boyfriend loved it. I didn't use but a drop of vegetable oil, added some butter and instead of adding sugar I added sweet onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I have had cabbage one way. With a New England Boiled Dinner. I have loved the cabbage in it, but never thought about doing anything else with it. Then came cabbage rolls! I loved the cabbage part so much, I grate cabbage into the meat mixture & wrap with two leaves. Hmmm. Then THIS dish floated across my tongue!!! I LOVE IT!!! I took the recommendations from several folks about the bacon, covering it, (lowered heat), cooked longer, etc., but didn't change the ingredients. Guess I must have been a "southerner" in another life !!! Thanks for posting! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Just made this (with a few changes) and the family loved it. My husband does not eat pork so I used Turkey Bacon. I cooked the turkey bacon until crisp (used about 6 slices), used 4 tbs butter instead of oil, brown sugar instead of white and a sweet Vandalia onion. Just a sprinkle of creole seasoning in addition to those listed. Next time I'll double the recipe because they all wanted seconds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Our family never had this before. I wanted to try some different sides for the summer instead of the usual. My family didn't let me go more than a week all summer without begging for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great foundation for a beginner like me. I tweeked it a little. I added butter, 3 slices more bacon, a lil more salt ,sprinkled some crushed red peppers and added a package of hidden valley ranch seasoning and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I used just a drop of oil because my bacon was 80% already done when I put it in the pan. I then like many people suggested removed the bacon after it was crisp. I sautéed the onions in the bacon fat before putting the cabbage in. After adding the cabbage I added the salt, pepper and sugar as directed. About half way through the cooking I tasted the cabbage and added more salt and sugar to taste. Placing the bacon back in at the end added a nice crunch and flavor to each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Followed the recipe, it was the best cabbage I ever ate! Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States