Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe. I didn't have fresh bacon on hand so I used hormel real bacon pieces instead and it was great! I also put a top of the pot to soften the cabbage a little. My husband always turns his nose up to cabbage and even he liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I followed other reviewers advice and cooked 5-6 pieces of bacon and set it aside while cooking cabbage in bacon grease. I used 1 TBS sugar. I also combined it with buttered egg noodles to make Haluski. Kids and picky-husband gave it two thumbs up. Easy, one pot meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I did tweak it a bit though. I used 6 pieces of bacon instead of 3..mostly because I accidentally burnt the first 3(whoops), I omitted the oil. I added some minced garlic and just a dash of cajun seasoning! It was seriously one of the best vegetable side dishes I've ever eaten. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Delicious!! My son hated cabbage until I fixed this dish and its even better the next day as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the first time I've made fried cabbage and it was delicious! What we did: cook the bacon separately first, add more bacon (2-3x more), omit the canola oil and cook the cabbage in the bacon grease, add more than a pinch of sugar (about 1-2 tsp.), add caraway seed (but not too much because it could be overpowering--I'd say about a 1/4 tsp.), add celery seed, and cook down for much longer than the 5 minutes suggested. It turned out wonderfully. Next time I may try adding a little red wine vinegar to taste. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarabethg
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this for hubby with corned beef. He eats very low carb. He loved it! Drained oil and heated a couple more minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I tried it and was not quite satisfied. Fried 8 pieces of bacon, drained.Crumbled bacon added chicken broth, salt, pepper and vinegar. I think it was Southern style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It was ok but not my favorite, but I'm not a huge cabbage fan. It coild have used a little more bacon, a little less cabbage for my taste. I added a titch of red wine vinegar before serving to give it a little something extra. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States