Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great foundation for a beginner like me. I tweeked it a little. I added butter, 3 slices more bacon, a lil more salt ,sprinkled some crushed red peppers and added a package of hidden valley ranch seasoning and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I used just a drop of oil because my bacon was 80% already done when I put it in the pan. I then like many people suggested removed the bacon after it was crisp. I sautéed the onions in the bacon fat before putting the cabbage in. After adding the cabbage I added the salt, pepper and sugar as directed. About half way through the cooking I tasted the cabbage and added more salt and sugar to taste. Placing the bacon back in at the end added a nice crunch and flavor to each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Followed the recipe, it was the best cabbage I ever ate! Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Excellent and easy. I used 4 slices of bacon and sautéed the cabbage in the drippings. No extra oil was needed! Splash of red wine vinegar is nice and so is a bit of red pepper flakes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I'm well past 65 and had never had fried cabbage. I had never even heard of it until I was searching low carb recipes. We shall be having this on a regular basis. I agree with many other reviewers. The next time I will not add the extra oil and I will at least double the bacon. This is a very good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Maybe I did something wrong? It seemed kind of tasteless and very greasy. I kept having to add more salt. I will probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Livesimplecolorado
Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I also altered this. I cook cabbage in chic broth then add noodles then right before eating fresh grated Parmesan cheese. I also use more bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Like most others, I omitted the oil. I used an entire package of bacon, which I felt was the perfect amount once crisped. I used a smaller head of organic cabbage and it took a LOT longer to cook down to the texture I wanted, even cooking with a lid on. Even though I browned the the onions and cabbage in the bacon grease, it still didn't produce the bacon flavor I was expecting. I added some garlic powder to the cabbage while cooking, subbed about 1 T brown sugar, and added a few splashes of red wine vinegar as I generally do when frying cabbage. Served with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread, which was a fantastic pairing! Overall, the taste was just ok; I'll try again with a different brand of bacon. I still have high hopes for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
YUM! We love cooked cabbage but this just put it right on the top of my favorite side dish list! My husband made turkey kielbasa with it and threw it in at the end and well...JUST YUM! Fantastic flavor! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe. I didn't have fresh bacon on hand so I used hormel real bacon pieces instead and it was great! I also put a top of the pot to soften the cabbage a little. My husband always turns his nose up to cabbage and even he liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States