Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I followed other reviewers advice and cooked 5-6 pieces of bacon and set it aside while cooking cabbage in bacon grease. I used 1 TBS sugar. I also combined it with buttered egg noodles to make Haluski. Kids and picky-husband gave it two thumbs up. Easy, one pot meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I did tweak it a bit though. I used 6 pieces of bacon instead of 3..mostly because I accidentally burnt the first 3(whoops), I omitted the oil. I added some minced garlic and just a dash of cajun seasoning! It was seriously one of the best vegetable side dishes I've ever eaten. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Delicious!! My son hated cabbage until I fixed this dish and its even better the next day as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the first time I've made fried cabbage and it was delicious! What we did: cook the bacon separately first, add more bacon (2-3x more), omit the canola oil and cook the cabbage in the bacon grease, add more than a pinch of sugar (about 1-2 tsp.), add caraway seed (but not too much because it could be overpowering--I'd say about a 1/4 tsp.), add celery seed, and cook down for much longer than the 5 minutes suggested. It turned out wonderfully. Next time I may try adding a little red wine vinegar to taste. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarabethg
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this for hubby with corned beef. He eats very low carb. He loved it! Drained oil and heated a couple more minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I tried it and was not quite satisfied. Fried 8 pieces of bacon, drained.Crumbled bacon added chicken broth, salt, pepper and vinegar. I think it was Southern style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It was ok but not my favorite, but I'm not a huge cabbage fan. It coild have used a little more bacon, a little less cabbage for my taste. I added a titch of red wine vinegar before serving to give it a little something extra. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Very good, but I added a little white vinegar for a sweet sour taste. I used the grease from the bacon to sauté the cabbage and onion, and before serving I crumbled the bacon and sprinkled it on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States