Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I tried it and was not quite satisfied. Fried 8 pieces of bacon, drained.Crumbled bacon added chicken broth, salt, pepper and vinegar. I think it was Southern style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It was ok but not my favorite, but I'm not a huge cabbage fan. It coild have used a little more bacon, a little less cabbage for my taste. I added a titch of red wine vinegar before serving to give it a little something extra. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Very good, but I added a little white vinegar for a sweet sour taste. I used the grease from the bacon to sauté the cabbage and onion, and before serving I crumbled the bacon and sprinkled it on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
The secret to good cooked cabbage is bacon grease and a little sugar. Butter can be used in place of the oil. We love cooked cabbage, but seldom use onions with our cabbage; although, we love onions. Play around with this recipe and adjust the seasonings to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Thank you, JDANX3, for a good recipe! I basically followed the recipe as written, but doubled the bacon and did not use any oil to fry it. I did find that it needed a couple splashes of apple cider vinegar and a bit more sugar near the end of cooking to suit our personal tastes. Yummy served with turkey kielbasa and cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. We did make a substitution....we didn't have any pork bacon so we used smoked ham and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was good, I also added 6 slices of bacon and cut the oil out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Very good. A little greasy, but one way to get family to eat vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was a great recipe. I did however modify it. I used ground deer in place of the bacon. I also used butter instead of oil. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOKSHU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Now THIS is southern fried cabbage. I saw another recipe with same name that has mushrooms; being from the South, this is the way we cooked it...no mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States