Southern Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Mushrooms, and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I liked it since I love mushrooms and cabbage. I could have put more mushrooms in it. The bacon was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This is 99% perfect! I added about 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to the bacon fat and then followed your recipe exactly. Thanks, this will be a regular dish around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Just made this for my family of eight. Everyone loved it and cleaned it up. I did not use the entire cabbage head, but could have! Bagged part I a quart bag. I cooked the onions five minutes first, then added the rest and cooked fifteen minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogallala, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sunman, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
people quit reviewing when you haven't freaking made the darn recipe! you skew the rating when you do this. frankly, I don't care that YOU think there is too much bacon in the recipe. If I (or anyone else) wants to add a pull pound of bacon I can. My only addition was to add a bit of fresh thyme to the cabbage as it cooked. I like thyme with sauted mushrooms and we both thought it was good with the cabbage. I served mashed red potatoes--reminded me a variation on Colcannon which we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
My husband and I totally enjoyed this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
We added pork to it, cause my husband said you can't have just bacon and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is delicious, and fast and easy to make. My wife, who hates cabbage, eats three helpings of this! We make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Can't imagine using a pound of bacon for a head of cabbage. That said, cabbage cooked with bacon is an old classic, consistently popular because it's delicious - no doubt because of the bacon! So... cut waaaay back on the bacon, add some minced garlic, and we've got something pretty good here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Not usually a fan of cabbage, but I really liked this. I also added in lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States