Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
We cook this often and call it Cabbage and Scoodles. Using an electric skillet,cut a pound of bacon in 1 inch strips, fry till crispy, add one head chopped cabbage (do not drain bacon grease), cover and cook till desired tenderness. Add desired amount of cooked rotini pasta (cork screw) and simmer for several minutes. Best when cabbage is slightly caramelized.Cabbage and Scoodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
would not use the sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Padre Island, Texas, USA
Photo by Calvin
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This turned out great!!! just used a whole pack of maple bacon & fell in love!! Will make again.. simple easy & quick????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I recently started a HFLC diet to help control my diabetes. Instead of sugar, I sprinkled on some liquid Stevia. I also added a bit of diced ham. It was terrific! I believe leftovers would be good for lunch the next day! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisAnomaly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
A recipe has to be pretty spectacular for me to rate it 5 stars. I made no changes to this recipe, it's perfect as is. We will definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I make this all the time....basically like recipe, except I do not add sugar, but add a pinch of cayenne or something hot,maybe a little pepper seeds.....I fry the bacon, take out most of the grease and only add more if I think I need it.....don't need a lot.....you can omit the grease and just use olive oil or coconut oil.....that is what I do most of the time....as that grease is not all that good for you :) clog arteries......I also chopped my cabbage pretty fine and it doesn't take that long to fry it.....I like it cut , kinda like you would for cole slaw....and I add some parsley, garlic powder, onion powder or saute some onions after you cook the bacon.....eat it with a piece of cornbread and that is good southern eating......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Greer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Made recipe as is came out a little greasy. But that was probably my fault. Beside being greasy this was a wonderful recipe will try again. Without adding the extra oil lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My only addition was 1/2 large onion. Added the sugar and this was to die for. Me and hubby loved it. Whatever is left is mine for work tomorrow. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I purchased all the ingredients to learn how to make cabbage on the stove, but found this recipe. And since we were grilling bugers I put it together and threw it on the grill. But I added potato topping to it and it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelkorrodi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States