Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was my first time ever making fried cabbage so I wanted to try a really good recipe. I must say I was a little skeptical when I read this recipe, it was so easy! Well I am now a big fan of fried cabbage and will probably cook my cabbage like this from now on! The flavors just came together perfectly and it was perfectly cooked with just the right crunchiness! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pt929mm1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Savage, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
this was the best idea ever. Our house loves bacon and I love cabbage so adding the two was so good. I made it first for St. Patrick's Day but have done it many times since. Even those few that don't eat cooked cabbage like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huffman, Texas, USA
Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
The dish is awesome...It was a simple recipe. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was good. The munchkins asked for seconds! I left out the sugar and added small cubed potatoes. Next time I will cook the potatoes before adding the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I am so glad i found this! My 4 lil 'picky eaters' just love it! 5 Stars:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is how my family has eaten cabbage for generations - LOVE IT! So simple, but so tasty! To make it more of a meal instead of a side dish, try using some cubed ham instead of the bacon, and add egg noodles. Great hearty main dish for cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is a great fried cabbage recipe, but like the other reviews I omitted the sugar, and we like things spicy in our house so I added a little crushed red pepper flakes to give it more zing, that's how my momma made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I love cabbage and was looking to try something new...this recipe fit the bill. I read the reviews and ended up omitting the sugar and adding some brown onion. It was so good! I think next time I'll try using a little less of the grease though. Thanks Kristy : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theconig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Followed the recipe as is but cut it in 4, turned out great! Would be a great side dish with sausages for supper. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is how my grandmother taught me to cook cabbage...I add some chopped onion in with the cabbage, and leave out the sugar...truly yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States