Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
A recipe has to be pretty spectacular for me to rate it 5 stars. I made no changes to this recipe, it's perfect as is. We will definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I make this all the time....basically like recipe, except I do not add sugar, but add a pinch of cayenne or something hot,maybe a little pepper seeds.....I fry the bacon, take out most of the grease and only add more if I think I need it.....don't need a lot.....you can omit the grease and just use olive oil or coconut oil.....that is what I do most of the time....as that grease is not all that good for you :) clog arteries......I also chopped my cabbage pretty fine and it doesn't take that long to fry it.....I like it cut , kinda like you would for cole slaw....and I add some parsley, garlic powder, onion powder or saute some onions after you cook the bacon.....eat it with a piece of cornbread and that is good southern eating......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Greer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Made recipe as is came out a little greasy. But that was probably my fault. Beside being greasy this was a wonderful recipe will try again. Without adding the extra oil lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My only addition was 1/2 large onion. Added the sugar and this was to die for. Me and hubby loved it. Whatever is left is mine for work tomorrow. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I purchased all the ingredients to learn how to make cabbage on the stove, but found this recipe. And since we were grilling bugers I put it together and threw it on the grill. But I added potato topping to it and it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelkorrodi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I made this, as written, tonight for dinner... so easy. I've never made fried cabbage before. My boyfriend and I both thought it was just Delish! I'll be making this again. Thank you for such a simple, tasty recipe. A definite keeper. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My husband is the designated bacon-cooker in my house. He made the whole package so I started with double the bacon grease. It was still good though! We ate ALL the leftovers and now I have a new low carb recipe which I think will become a staple. I bought another head of cabbage this week. Oh one note, it took about 20-25 minutes to get it good and brown. Of course that might have had something to do with the extra grease. Regardless, I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
We Southerners love our cabbage! I had to use bacon drippings only since I didn't have any bacon on hand. My family likes everything spicy, so I seasoned it up with some garlic salt, salt and pepper, and a drop or two of liquid smoke flavoring, and omitted the sugar. YUM! 5-Star as modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Made this twice now. First time, used only three strips of bacon, about 1/4 head of shredded cabbage, and a pinch of white sugar. On medium-high heat, the bacon left some residue on my skillet, but cabbage tasted good enough for me to try the recipe again. Second time, I used a non-stick skillet, 5 slices of bacon, about 1/3 head of chopped cabbage, and a pinch of white sugar. After bacon cooked (it didn't stick this time), I removed about 2 tablespoons of the bacon grease, and then fried the cabbage. Liked the recipe better the second time with more bacon. Next time I have some extra cabbage, I'm planning on trying this recipe again. Next time, I think I'll try using brown sugar instead of white sugar, and perhaps adding some onion and garlic. Overall a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I tried this receipe. I could get my husband to eat my cabbage but never say it was good. He ate this cabbage and raved about how good it was. He even ate the left over which has never happen. I did not use the oil. I used 6 pieces of bacon. I let mine cook 40 minutes. I added chicken broth to cover the bottom of the pan and stirred occasionally and kept adding the broth as it cooked out. I also added a pinch of crushed red peppers. I increased the sugar to 1 tsp. I have to say, it was so good. I shocked myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States