Southern Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe was super easy and delicious. I used a variety of apples (Red Delicious, Granny Smith and Mackintosh) and left a little skin to identify the apple and this works for any type of apple. I instead of 2 tablespoons of cinnamon, I used 1 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon and with the remaining 1/2 tablespoon, I was little nutmeg, allspice and ginger. My husband and kids loved it as a side for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These apples were delicious. The recipe is easy and the ingredients are usually readily available. Great side dish for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is my mother's recipe as well. I have grown up on these fried apples. As I got older and more health conscious, I began substituting apple juice for the butter. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorenaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I halved the recipe and added 2 dashes of salt. The apples were perfect! My Son thought I had spent a lot of time! He pronounced the dish as addictive. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was my first attempt at fried apples, and it was horrible. I think the recipe had a typo. Perhaps the two tablespoons of cinnamon should have been two teaspoons. It may be a while, but I may try it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I would highly recommend a particular type of cinnamon. It is called Ground Saigon Cinnamon. It has a strong cinnamon flavor. If this is to strong try Ground Ceylon cinnamon, from Sri Lanka. It is awesome as well. I didn't realize what a difference these could make in traditional dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Everyone enjoyed this in an old fashioned cast iron skillet just like my grandmother used to make!! Very good and it brings back a lot of warm memories....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Love this easy and simple recipe. My 2 yr old gobbled down seconds of this!!!!! I think next time I am gonna add a dash or 2 of salt like another reviewer did. I followed all the instructions and it turned out super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I haven't tried it yet, but I will now for sure and USE my cast iron skillet. I was just kind of poking around, see if anyone peeled the apples, what kind they used, what kind if any sugar.. and I came across this! Sounds great.. going to go make it now.. will come back with a review. My daughter gave me the apples, so not sure what kind, they are red skinned (lol).. I'll do a rough peel, use my apple corer..go from there. TNX for all the help ladies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Amazing! Especially when served alongside pork chops! I used half white sugar, and half brown sugar, and I think that added another layer of flavor. Will definitely makes this again. (forgot to add, the apples I used were too old to use fresh, but they turned out great in this recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlleyKat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States