Southern Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These apples were delicious. The recipe is easy and the ingredients are usually readily available. Great side dish for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe was super easy and delicious. I used a variety of apples (Red Delicious, Granny Smith and Mackintosh) and left a little skin to identify the apple and this works for any type of apple. I instead of 2 tablespoons of cinnamon, I used 1 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon and with the remaining 1/2 tablespoon, I was little nutmeg, allspice and ginger. My husband and kids loved it as a side for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was amazingly easy and pretty tasty too! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out pretty good. However, I think next time I will cut the cinnamon by half. It was a bit too much for my taste. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsShraken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pettus, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Turned out tasting good, but the sauce seemed a little dark, not sure why, but I followed the recipe to a T. I will be making it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by detroitprincessmh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I halved the recipe and added 2 dashes of salt. The apples were perfect! My Son thought I had spent a lot of time! He pronounced the dish as addictive. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Picked my own Granny Smiths fresh yesterday morning. They were outstanding and any left over sauce is great on a piece of toast. Great and easy recipe. Will be trying it over a camp fire next weekend for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Love this easy and simple recipe. My 2 yr old gobbled down seconds of this!!!!! I think next time I am gonna add a dash or 2 of salt like another reviewer did. I followed all the instructions and it turned out super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is my mother's recipe as well. I have grown up on these fried apples. As I got older and more health conscious, I began substituting apple juice for the butter. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorenaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I just tried this tonight and it was fabulous. So easy. So few ingredients. So delicious! I followed the recipe pretty much to the letter but used a bit less butter and also a little less sugar. I think it would be just as good if not better with half the sugar. I also added less cinnamon, added a few shakes of salt, and just a tad of cornstarch/water mixture... about a teaspoon cornstarch to about a tablespoon water, and this thickened the mixture a bit without making it gloppy or pasty. I want to make this every day for the next few weeks it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I had 3 super large granny smith apples. Simply easy to follow, just make sure not to over do with the cinnamon. As is, was delish and 3 of my children that could eat apples, really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States